this is about william, catherine and their little prince

The beaming new parents

The beaming new parents

The whole world (well not the whole world, but a lot of people) have royal baby fever. Today, the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge left the hospital with their newborn little prince and he is gorgeous. Absolutely beautiful. And William and Kate are beaming just like any first time parents. They look so lovely and happy and so they should, it is a happy occasion.

But there’s something that bothers me a little every time something good happens for William — people will inevitably bring up Diana. And I get it. William was only a teenager when Diana tragically died in a car accident.

The gorgeous little prince

The gorgeous little prince

So when Will and Kate announced their engagement, there was the “oh Diana would have loved her”. When they got married “Diana would have loved to be there”. When it was announced they were expecting a baby “Diana would have been so excited”. And when the little prince was born this week “Diana would have loved to share this time with William, even though she would probably think 52 is too young to be a grandmother”. And it’s true, she would have loved to have been there for all those special occasions and I can guarantee you that William wishes she was there.

Which I guess is why it annoys me, he is already acutely aware of the fact that his mother is not there for these milestones in his life, so why is the media (and everyone else) constantly harping on about it and asking him.

Even though I don’t know William, I too lost my mother when I was a teenager and rightly or wrongly, I feel like that means that I am able to discuss this matter.

When I got engaged, on the way to share the news with my father, it suddenly struck me that I was engaged and I would never have a chance to tell my mum and I burst into tears. This has steadily happened throughout the planning process. But my being engaged and my eventual marriage is not about my mum not being there, it’s about me, DG and our love for each other. Yes, I will be very sad that she’s not there, but I don’t want to be reminded by others of it on my wedding day as I’ll already be thinking of it.

This isn’t me telling you not to think of Diana. It’s only natural that you should. And there’s nothing wrong with that. But this isn’t about Diana. This is about William, Catherine and their little prince.

Author’s note: Please don’t mistake this as me saying that you shouldn’t mention Diana or think of her. That’s totally fine. I just hope that if William and Catherine give any interviews, they aren’t asked about Diana. 

Picture Picture

2 comments

  1. melissasavage · July 25, 2013

    I’m the same age as William & Kate, and my mum died the same year as Diana, so I like to think I’m in a reasonable position to comment too. I completely agree with you and I think the Diana obsession in some parts of the media is symbolic of a generation gap and the juiciness of the ‘tragic hero princes’ story they like to weave about William and Harry.

    First, the generation gap. For a particular generation who can remember it, Diana was the epitome of the fairy tale princess and the whole story was thrilling and exciting and glamorous and tragic and they got quite hysterical about it. Diana died more than half of William and Kate’s lifetime ago, when he was a high schooler. Like me, he and Kate were not born when Charles and Diana had their big wedding and can’t remember a time when they captivated the press. William and Harry have lived all of their adult lives without her around, and Kate never met her. The slightly older establishment of the British press can remember Diana, and probably knew her as adults, meaning their view of her is entirely different from that of a person who was a child when she died.

    While an early parental loss is tragic (I sound like Madam Trelawney mooning over Harry Potter…), and Diana died tragically young, it’s something that he and Harry have now lived with for a long time, and they have adjusted well into a changed life and they are doing great. Their dad remarried happily to a stepmother they seem to love, and with whom Kate has a strong bond. They are not tragic little boys. They are grown men who have fought in war and lived and loved. I’m sure they are sad that they lost their mum, but I’m not sure the reality of their lives reflects the tragic narrative the media, who are old enough to remember their mother, want to box them in.

    I see these pictures and I see a new dad who is proud of his wife and his son and excited and scared about the job he has ahead of him. Somewhere in the back of his mind, he probably wishes his mum got to meet her first grandchild, but I suspect he’s more excited about the future than dwelling on the past.

    • moniquefischle · July 25, 2013

      This is so beautifully put. Thank you. I really appreciate this. I don’t think of Mum immediately in every situation but at some point along the way, the thought that she’s not there comes to me but I don’t let it overshadow the event.

      I only allowed myself to cry for a few minutes on the day of my engagement because I didn’t want this unbelievably happy occasion to be marred by circumstances you cannot change.

      William and Harry have sadly been without Diana for so long that while it may be at the back of their minds, in the birth of the gorgeous little George Alexander Louis, I’m sure William was just unbelievably proud and happy with his new little family! I know I would be.

Leave a Reply

