wedding planning: setting a date

WeddingPlanning

A few people have asked and I’ve decided it could be fun, so here is the first of I don’t know how many blogs relating to the process of planning the wedding!

Setting A Date

When you get engaged, the first thing that everyone asks is “when are you thinking of getting married?” I know this, because I am generally one of the askers. As DG and many other newly engaged men will say “I was more just thinking about the actual proposal and hadn’t really thought much further ahead then that”. For the girls, if they are like me and have a time of year in mind, it will all depend on when they got engaged.

I have always liked autumn. It’s not too hot, not too cold and I absolutely love it when the leaves turn beautiful shades of orange, red and yellow (not that they really do that here in Newcastle). It is also positioned well between DG’s birthday (June), my birthday (September) and Christmas. April has always been my month of choice. It just sounds nice to me. And, as my soon-to-be cousin (who will be my cousin tomorrow) pointed out to me, it means that you have a long weekend every year around your anniversary because of Easter. I hadn’t even thought of that, but it’s smart, right?

Many people have commented that 13 months is a long time to wait to get married. It is a while, I agree, but I want to be able to plan properly and in my own time. I don’t want to lose my crap and need a sedative because I’m stressing out that I don’t have enough time. Also, given I was proposed to in March, neither DG or myself wanted to plan a wedding in a month (plus, I don’t think that’s possible unless you’re ridiculously rich and famous which we are not). Before people think that this is all just about me, I want to make clear that when I say “I”, most of the time I mean “we” because I consult DG on EVERYTHING, even ideas I have floating around in my head because I am very firm that it is OUR wedding, not my wedding, and I want him to be happy with it and have a say.

Then there is the dilemma of choosing a Friday or a Saturday. Friday is becoming increasingly popular because price per head at reception venues drop by at least $10 a head and when you’re inviting around 100 people (but the guest list numbers have changed so much so who really knows), it’s hard to say no to saving $1000. Great! But then there’s the dilemma of work. Are people going to be willing or will they be able to get the day off work to come to the wedding if it’s held on a Friday?

I like the idea of Friday but I also like Saturday as well because you have less chance of interfering with people’s work schedules. The voice of reason came in the form of my amazing fiancรฉ who said that it is ultimately about what we want and that people will try to get there and if they can’t, that’s OK. He also pointed out that we are giving them a year’s notice. Then there’s the fact that we found a date we really like the sound of and it just so happened to be on a Friday.

So, my lovely readers, DG and I will be getting married on Friday 4th April 2014 which turns out to be 4/04/14 and we couldn’t be happier!

How did you set a date for your wedding? Had you always had something in mind? Did you have the Friday/Saturday dilemma?

Picture

14 comments

  1. Hurricane Jane · April 4, 2013

    13 months is seriously not too long! Don’t stress or even worry about what anyone else says, it is YOUR WEDDING!

    I know we’ve discussed this before, but whatever you WANT is an appropriate engagement time whether it be 1 month or 4 years, but personally, I would wait at least a year! Ideally 18 months. My friend The Physio got engaged in December 2012 and is unlikely to get married until 2015 and they’ve been together for 5 years already, it is whatever works for you!

    So pleased you have picked a date. I wonder where we will all be in a year….

    • moniquefischle · April 4, 2013

      I think 13 months is the right amount of time for me. I don’t think I could go longer or shorter but as you say, it’s different for every person. But I’m very pleased I have picked a date as well!

      I woke DG up this morning by jumping up and down screaming “WE’RE GETTING MARRIED IN 365 DAYS!!!” Hahaha

      It’s going to be strange how much things change in a year, you’ll have a semi-English accent by then!

      • Hurricane Jane · April 4, 2013

        That is sweet. Haha……just remember for the next year that it is YOUR WEDDING, no one else’s. And you can just email me and I’ll offer my strident opinion on everything lol.

        you know I have bogan tones, I very much doubt there will be anything other than English slang in my vocabulary or accent!

        • moniquefischle · April 4, 2013

          I look forward to your strident opinions haha

          But bogan tones in a semi-English accent would be amazing!!!

  2. melissasavage · April 4, 2013

    I think Friday is actually an excellent choice, because if people really care about making it to your wedding they will make the effort to be there no matter what day it is (unless it’s a destination wedding, which yours isn’t, and then cost becomes a factor). If people are umming and ahhhing about whether or not to come because it is a Friday, then they probably aren’t super close to you anyway, and, by saying no, they save you even more money!

    • moniquefischle · April 4, 2013

      Thank you! I like the Friday, it gives people a long weekend and I just love the date. I figure with giving a year’s notice, people will be able to sort something out and if they don’t want to, well that’s not my problem.

  3. Linda R. Keeton · April 5, 2013

    Great suggestions and pieces of advice. It is really helpful. I recently got engaged and the date is set for next year. I am excited and feeling a little stressed already but i can’t wait for the big day.

    • moniquefischle · April 7, 2013

      Glad you liked it Linda and congratulations on your engagement! It’s a bit stressful but hopefully all works out well for both of us ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Naz (@CinnamonEats) · April 7, 2013

    Just had a read and I think 13 months is just fine! Ours took about that long too, and it didn’t feel rushed which was a good thing. I like the date you chose, plus yeh you’re giving them EARLY notice so they can plan around it! Take a day off work, or work half day or whatever, not the end of the world! Plus they’ll have the weekend to recover from all the fun ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • moniquefischle · April 7, 2013

      Good to know it didn’t feel rushed ๐Ÿ™‚ I went to a Friday wedding last Friday and everyone was able to make it! If people can’t, that’s unfortunate but in the end, as I have been told many times, I cannot please everyone.

  5. Pingback: wedding planning: setting a budget | the musings of monique
  6. Pingback: wedding planning: choosing a venue | the musings of monique
  7. Pingback: wedding planning: finding the dress | the musings of monique

Leave a Reply

