a personal engagement

PicMonkey-Collage1

Hello my lovely readers, I am terribly sorry for my absence. I know that I’ve been posting book reviews (and currently running a bit behind, oops) and award show wrap-ups, but I haven’t really been posting much personal content. That seems a bit weird considering it is called “the musings of monique” and I haven’t really been offering many musings lately.

As many of you will know, around three weeks ago, I became engaged to the most amazing man I have ever met and you can read just a little bit about that here. Why just a little bit? Well, sit down my friends, for we have a story.

You see, the lovely T asked me if I would be happy to share my engagement story on KiKi & Tea and then publish it over here. It was something I was already planning to do because how exciting are proposals and engagements! I quickly wrote a post (because the words were just flowing out of me), attached some pictures and told T it was ready to go.

Then I stopped to think about it.

With the Internet, blogging and social media, very few things are truly sacred anymore. We share births, deaths and marriages on Facebook, Twitter and our personal blogs. As excited as I am to share my proposal story with people I have an actual relationship with, I don’t know how comfortable I feel with strangers reading about possibly the most personal moment of my life. Your friends and family are there for the wedding, but the proposal is something that is just between me and my fiancé. If you are a friend of mine and you want to know the story, give me your email, I will happily send it to you.

But I made the decision not to post the full story, despite the fact that it is truly movie-perfect to me. DG pulled out all the stops and has reminded me every day why he is the man I am over the moon excited to marry.

It’s a dilemma I have been having with blogging and social media these days. It’s part of the reason I’ve been pulling back a bit. I love to write and I love to share my opinions with others in a discussion, but to me, there is a fine line between sharing my thoughts and sharing a part of myself.

I will continue to blog and because of the person I am, you can be sure that I’ll be posting more than a few wedding related blogs either about something I have learnt or seeking advice.

This, I guess, is my way of explaining my absence. It’s not that I’ve lost my passion for writing (that couldn’t be further from the truth), it’s that I’m trying to keep my personal life personal.

You will still see me around, I promise!

6 comments

  1. Tamsin Howse · March 22, 2013

    As I said to you privately – there are no rules with where the line is to be drawn. For me, sharing personal things about the Viking or Stepdaughter are completely off the table and always have been. So is anything about sex. But there are other things I will share that are very personal – like my experiences with abuse.

    I think you just need to figure out what you want to share and what you don’t. xx

    • moniquefischle · March 22, 2013

      This is true and I thank you for that 🙂 I obviously don’t mind mentioning DG, but personal discussions are generally off the table. I think it is very brave of you to share your experiences with abuse and is actually for the “common good” I guess you could say.

      I’m starting to figure out my line and I am grateful for your support in it!

  2. Bea · April 2, 2013

    Oh my god Monique, congratulations!! I used to chat to you at Mamamia (as “b”) a very long time ago when you (and then I) had a broken heart.

    I hadn’t caught up on your blog in ages (I’m sorry, I love it, I’m just slack) and just saw this news! So exciting, congratulations! Wishing you a world of love and happiness.

    • moniquefischle · April 2, 2013

      Thanks so much Bea! You don’t have to apologise for not keeping up to date, it’s so flattering that you stop by and comment! I am very excited and it’s crazy thinking what life was like even a year ago!

      Hope you are going well 🙂

      • Bea · April 3, 2013

        I know, so much changes so quickly! It was Sad Central around the interwebs last year – I’m glad we’re all getting our mojo back ;0)

        Good luck with the wedding planning!

        • moniquefischle · April 3, 2013

          It really was, wasn’t it? So glad everyone is happier!

          Thank you, it should be interesting.

Leave a Reply

