bullying the bully

chuuni_bullying_tutorial_by_timmi_o_tool-d5jh2gv

I am against bullying. I hate it. On this blog, I will never post comments which are abusive towards others, it’s just not in my nature. That’s not to say I’ve never gone off on a little rant in person, but to put something down in words and then post it online is something I don’t understand. I never have and I never will. You’ll have noticed that in the celebrity posts I’ve done in the past, I talk about what is happening but try to be really careful (and I may have failed) to make sure I’m not saying anything really hurtful or anything that could be classed as bullying. Why? Because celebrities are people as well and people with feelings.

I hate bullying and I’m sick of it. I’m not just talking about the schoolyard bully (but boy would I like to have some words with them to sort them out). Do you know what kind of bullying has really been irritating me lately? When people bully the bully. Not familiar with what I mean? You only need to go on blogs or read opinion columns/websites to get what I’m talking about.

You see it in politics all the time and I daresay with the election just seven months away, we’ll be seeing it a lot more. Tony Abbott bullies Julia Gillard and her government about how they’re “useless” (but I won’t get too much into it because I am so not in the mood for a political debate), Julia Gillard goes off on a rant calling him a bully while systematically bullying him. Then he retaliates by bullying her back. Quite frankly, it’s exhausting to watch and read about so I’ve started to switch off when politics is mentioned.

It is also the same when it comes to body shaming. I hate, and I mean really hate, all kinds of body shaming, whether it’s people telling you that you’re “too skinny” or “too fat” or unhealthy because of your size (whether it’s smaller or larger). When a smaller person tells a bigger person that they’re fat or disgusting, that’s bullying and it’s unacceptable. But it’s also bullying when the person bites back and tells them they’re a “skinny bitch” and that they “need to eat a cheeseburger”.

There’s a difference between disrespectfully disagreeing and expressing your point and bullying through abuse and vitriol directed at another person. We’ve said it on here before, saying “men prefer curves” is indirectly bullying a girl who is skinny and doesn’t have a curvy body shape just as saying men prefer a skinnier woman is indirectly bullying a girl carrying a little extra weight.

Remember what they said on Mean Girls (where I have learnt all of life’s great lessons and my favourite phrase “I know, right?”) “Calling someone fat doesn’t make you any skinnier”.

It happens on Twitter ALL THE TIME

It happens on Twitter ALL THE TIME

I see cyber bullying a lot. I think we all do, but what I seem to be seeing a lot more lately is people using social media, more specifically Twitter, as an outlet to insult, ridicule and bully people simply because their opinions are different to theirs. This isn’t OK in the same way that socks and sandals aren’t OK, it’s just wrong. Now you may call me a bully for that comment but let’s not get pedantic here. I’m talking about people who personally attack others, their beliefs and their lifestyles when these have absolutely no impact on their life. It makes me want to say “why do you even care”? Do you not realise that by calling someone a bully and then attacking them you are making yourself a bully?

Why must we make ourselves feel better by putting others down? Why must we attack the bully by bullying them?

When someone bullies you, indirectly by saying something that offends you (whether they’re a public figure or someone on your Facebook/Twitter) or directly to your face, might I suggest that instead of jumping on the offensive and bullying them, that you respectfully express your opinion without saying hurtful comments about them.

You may disagree with my view of bullying and that’s ok. We are entitled to differences of opinion. Some may feel that what politicians do isn’t bullying, just part of politics and for the most part, you are right. But when it gets personal, that’s when I take issue, that’s when (in my eyes) it becomes bullying.

When have you witnessed people bullying the bully? Do you think it’s just as bad or do you feel that it’s warranted?

Previously published on KiKi & Tea with slight modifications.

Picture Picture

Leave a Reply

