comedy at the expense of others

One of my favourite comedic actors is Will Ferrell. I love Anchorman and Step Brothers and The Other Guys and basically any movie he’s ever been in. He’s just my kind of comedian. When I saw a recent clip of him on Conan talking about how upset he was that Kristen Stewart cheated on Robert Pattinson, I was laughing so hard I had tears. If you check it out, I think you’ll agree:

I had a much better quality copy of this video before it was removed and this may be removed by the user after publishing.

After I finished watching it, I stopped laughing and thought about what was really happening here. What was happening was someone was using the personal life of others for the purpose of comedy. This is not a new concept. In fact, it’s fairly old. Most comedy is a comment on society, usually the uncomfortable parts. If you’ve ever been to a stand-up show, you’ll know that there is always at least one joke where you’re sitting there and you can’t decide whether or not you think it’s funny because it may have just gone that tiny bit too far.

Dane Cook recently is a prime example of this where he thought it was hilarious to use the Aurora tragedy as the butt of one of his jokes. Luckily, no one seemed to find it funny and he issued an apology for his “poor judgement”.

So what does any of this have to do with the Will Ferrell clip? Just think what he’s really making light of. Two relationships have broken down (or at the very least, are experiencing some serious difficulties) because of a “momentary indiscretion”. I was sitting there, laughing at the fact that someone cheated on their boyfriend. There is definitely something wrong with that picture.

What about “Rupert Cheats On Liberty”?

This probably seems hypocritical coming from me, the person who is obsessed with celebrity news and Facebooked and tweeted a link to the Will Ferrell clip saying how hilarious I thought it was, but I feel bad. I feel bad that people all across the world are calling Kristen Stewart a “trampire” amongst other things. She is a 22-year-old girl (only slightly older than me) and she made a mistake. But unlike me, she has had her mistake played out to the world. It’s been splashed across every magazine, website and is consistently spoken about on social media and blogs. I know, because I have been one of the ones keeping up the conversation.

She has been painted as a home wrecker and twi-hards everywhere have been getting angry at her for what she did to Robert Pattinson. And I agree, it was horrible what happened. But she wasn’t the only one involved in that affair, or indiscretion, or whatever it was. It seems that people at large seem to have forgotten that the man she was involved with is married with two children.

Where are the stories slamming him, calling him cheating scum? I can’t seem to find them, though admittedly haven’t looked further than the magazine covers. Rupert Sanders cheated on his WIFE (not girlfriend) Liberty Ross (who coincidentally played Kristen’s mother in Snow White And The Huntsman where they all met) and yet everyone focuses on the fact that Kristen cheated on her boyfriend. Both stories are sad, both are humiliating, not just for Kristen and Rupert but for Liberty and Rob. But Kristen seems to bear the brunt of the blame and it’s not fair.

As much as I still find the Will Ferrell clip hilarious, maybe it’s time we gave KStew a break. Stop hating on her for a mistake that she made, and then owned up to. I don’t condone cheating, but her statement shows that she realises how bad what she did was. She didn’t cheat on you or me. And if Rob and Liberty decide to forgive their spouses and carry on with the relationship, well it’s their life and they can do what they feel is best for them. Same goes if they decide to leave them.

I wish The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part Two had already been released because I can’t even begin to imagine how uncomfortable it is going to be for both Rob and Kristen. I feel that Taylor Lautner will need to be a buffer…

Do you think Kristen Stewart is getting it worse than Rupert Sanders? Do you feel slightly uncomfortable when you laugh at the misfortunes of others?

Picture

One comment

  1. The Tri Road (HeatherH) · August 7, 2012

    Well said. 🙂

Leave a Reply

