the low down according to mon – july 20

Hi friends, hope you’ve all been having a splendid week. I have to be honest with you, this edition of “the low down according to mon” is not anywhere near as detailed nor as diverse as the previous ones. Why? I have recently started full time work and that, teamed with the fact that I have been feeling quite unwell this week has left me with little energy to gather celeb news for you. This will happen occasionally and I am sorry. But I’ve still got some goodies for you and there will still be my (detailed) celeb highlights edition on KiKi & Tea at 4pm. All this information was accurate when posted at 9AM (AEDT)…

DEATHS

Sylvester Stallone‘s 36-year-old son Sage Stallone was found dead in his home last Friday. The death was from a suspected accidental overdose from pain medication he was taking after having five teeth pulled a few weeks earlier. Click here for more information.

TELEVISION NEWS

Who’s the highest paid actress in television? It’s Modern Family star Sofia Vergara. According to Forbes magazine, the actress earned $19 million this past year. Reality starlet Kim Kardashian came in just behind at $18 million.

The 2012 Emmy nominations have been released, full list to be posted later today.

MOVIE NEWS

Apparently breaking her foot earlier this year wasn’t enough, Halle Berry was sent to hospital from the set of her latest film, The Hive, where she suffered a minor head injury while filming a fight sequence. She’s said to be doing well.

I have casting news for you straight from Lionsgate in relation to casting of The Hunger Games: Catching FireAmanda Plummer has been cast as Wiress, one of the older tributes. And the casting news that we REALLY care about, Finnick has been cast! Sam Claflin, a 26 year old British actor who has been recently famous for his role in Snow White And The Huntsman. He’s not who I pictured as Finnick. I’m not loving it. Are you?

There is going to be a sequel to the beloved Finding Nemo. The director has been named as Andrew Stanton who directed the highly successful first Nemo, but most are shocked about this as Andrew is also responsible for box office loser John Carter. I’m a bit apprehensive, not about the director, but about the movie. I don’t know what there is you could possibly do.

COUPLE NEWS

Celebrity chef Curtis Stone announced his engagement to baby mumma Lindsay Price.  They welcomed a son, Hudson, back in November. Congrats guys, I wonder what the food will be like at the reception…

BABY NEWS

Little cutie Harper Beckham has taken her first steps in public! She was with mum, Victoria Beckham in Dublin. Ah, she’s so cute.

Uma Thurman welcomed a baby girl this week. This is the third child for Uma (who has two children with ex-husband Ethan Hawke) and her first with Arpad Busson. No name has been released.

True Blood stars Stephen Moyer and Anna Paquin have confirmed they are expecting twins! He told US magazine “I love my kids beyond anything. They’re the best things ever, and having two more is just going to be even more crazy, but that’s cool!”

Sarah Michelle Gellar and Freddie Prinze Jr are rumoured to be expecting a baby boy, who’ll have 2-year-old Charlotte as a big sister. I’ll keep you posted when I know more.

Guy Ritchie and Jacqui Ainsley only welcomed baby Rafael 10 months ago, but stepping out for the London premiere of The Dark Knight Rises, it certainly looked she she was expecting again, mainly with her hand placed under her belly. What do you think?

MUSIC NEWS

Songstress Mandy Moore and her singer-songwriter husband Ryan Adams will probably be collaborating on her next album. “I’m probably going to work with my husband on this album,” she told CBSNews.com. “I’m not sure necessarily in what capacity, but we’ve been writing a little bit together. He has a studio, so I definitely want to make my record there.” How sweet.

OTHER INTERESTING NEWS

I had a good old rant yesterday about why I don’t like 50 Shades of Grey and it turns out that classics (and one of my favourites) like Pride and Prejudice and Jane Eyre amongst others are getting the “50 shades treatment” much like Pride and Prejudice and Zombies but instead of zombies, they’re adding in sex scenes. Excuse me while I vomit.

CELEBRITY NEWS

The Dark Knight Rises star Joseph Gordon Levitt has less than lovely things to say about GQ magazine after they spoke about his late brother, Dan, in a way he wasn’t happy with. The line he wasn’t happy with was this “the elder Gordon-Levitt died of an alleged drug overdose in 2010. ‘It was an accident’ is all Joe will say about that.'” On his Tumblr, Joseph posted this: “I’m writing this because I have a problem with what their article says about my brother. I’ll be honest, it really made me feel terrible …  The “allegations” to which she must be referring were made by a handful of gossip websites.  They are factually incorrect according to the coroner’s office and the police department.  I don’t like publicly speaking about my brother’s death, but I’m making an exception to correct this irresponsible claim.” But the magazine stands by its words.

VIDEOs FOR THE WEEKEND

I know this is old, but I love this Harry Potter spoof trailer, hilarious:

I also love watching Ellen DeGeneres ‘help’ Jennifer Aniston get ready:

Leave a Reply

