katie finally gets out

In happier times…

This is the first weekend in a long time that I’ve actually slept in, not that I’ve had to be up early, but the fact that my body actually allowed me to sleep in and it seems that while I was sleeping, Hollywood decided it would be a great time to release some of the most intense celebrity news of the year. First, that the super lovely Adele is expecting her first child with boyfriend Simon Konecki which you can read about here. And second, and possibly more importantly, that Katie Holmes filed for divorce from Tom Cruise after over five years of marriage.

According to E! Online:

Tom Cruise and KatieHolmes are calling it quits.

Five years after Cruise proclaimed his unfettered love for the former Dawson’s Creek denizen from the top of Oprah Winfrey‘s couch to a worldwide audience, Holmes has moved to end their marriage.

“Kate has filed for divorce and Tom is deeply saddened and is concentrating on his three children,” Cruise publicist Amanda Lundberg tells E! News. “Please allow them their privacy.”

“This is a personal and private matter for Katie and her family,” Holmes’ divorce attorney, Jonathan Wolfe, says in a statement. “Katie’s primary concern remains, as it always has been, her daughter’s best interest.”

I was genuinely shocked by this news. Even though I loathe Tom (OK, maybe not loathe, but I don’t like him and he is responsible for one of the worst films ever made, Vanilla Sky), him and Katie have always seemed so happy and so in love. I’ve never understood it, but they have always seemed to be “the real deal”. But no matter how shocked I was, I was fist pumping  (OK, not really) when I found out the news because I was like “HELLS YEAH KATIE, SO GLAD YOU’RE GETTING OUT OF THAT FREAKSHOW!!”

I’m so relieved for Katie and Suri that they are getting out of there. According to TMZ, Katie isn’t interested in the money (she’ll be getting a decent amount from the prenup), she just wants to get Suri (their six-year-old) out of there so that she can’t be further influenced by the ‘church’ of Scientology:

Katie Holmes filed for divorce primarily over Tom Cruise‘s fierce ties to Scientology, fearing that Tom would drag Suri deep into the church … sources connected with the couple tell TMZ.

Our sources say … Katie has never been fully committed to Scientology, even though she has had ties with the church.  We’re told the couple had been arguing over Suri — that she’s now of the age where Scientology becomes a significant part of her life.

Sources familiar with the split tell us Katie is filing for sole legal custody — as we first reported — specifically because she does not want Tom to control decisions relating to religion.

Sources have told us that the divorce is NOT about money — we’re told Katie doesn’t need Tom’s money … because she has plenty of it … and will be well taken care of under the terms of the prenup.

All I can say is well done! I’m so proud of Katie for getting herself and Suri out of there. Tom is a crazy-fanatic when it comes to Scientology and as IAmEvilCupcake said in a blog post this morning, there is so much that we don’t know about Scientology. It’s very secretive and inaccessible. “I watched an interview with Tom Cruise this morning where he discusses Scientology, which you can find here . Honestly, I only made it half way through. To me, he was going round in circles, and I couldn’t actually work out what his belief system was” – Cuppy said on her blog. And I agree with her, I seriously don’t understand Scientology and what it stands for other than from the words of people who have “escaped”.

I am so relieved for Katie that is will finally be out of there and hope that everything happens in the best interest of Suri.

What do you make of the divorce? What about Scientology and their relationship?

8 comments

  1. I hope she has a good lawyer to get her custody of Suri. Poor Nicole Kidman seems to have very little to do with her and Tom’s older kids, and I hope that little girl gets to maintain her relationship with her mum.

    • moniquefischle · June 30, 2012

      Me too! It’s sad Nicole doesn’t get to see Connor and Isabella much. I hope Suri gets to stay with Katie so she can have as normal an upbringing as possible. I don’t think Tom will fight it as much as some think he will. I hope it remains civil.

      • Yeah. Unlike you I don’t mind Tom Cruise, I feel sorry for him in a way. I just think he’s been caught in the celebrity bubble since he was a teenager and has not been told no or that he can’t do something in nearly 30 years. He went on a PR offensive a little while ago because people turned against him, but I’m not sure he even really understands why they did that.

        • moniquefischle · June 30, 2012

          He’s so detached from reality that he becomes even more inaccessible as a person. There’s just something about him that has always annoyed me and that I’ve found strange. I do feel bad for him, any marriage ending is sad, and this is his third. And he appears to have been blindsided so I do feel sad for him. I hope he still gets access to Suri but that she remains primarily with Katie, it would be unfair to bar all contact, especially considering he hasn’t done anything bad, he loves that child.

    • iamevilcupcake · July 1, 2012

      She’s filed for divorce and custody of Suri in New York. Apparently New York is notorious for granting soul custody of kids to one parent if there are major issues between the parents. My guess is the fact that Tom wants Suri to be a Scientologist would be reason enough for the court to grant full custody.

      • moniquefischle · July 1, 2012

        That’s what I’ve heard. There’s rumours he’s trying to change it to an LA court because they’re more in favour of shared custody.

  2. Pingback: the low down according to mon – july 6 | the musings of monique
  3. Pingback: Plagiarism: Flattery or Stealing? | KiKi & Tea

Leave a Reply

