the element of surprise

I’ve spoken before about my love of Giuliana and Bill Rancic and how I’m very happy for them that they are expecting a baby via gestational surrogate. This week, they held a baby shower with their friends and enticed them on the invite with the knowledge that by the end of the shower, they would know if it was a girl or a boy. My initial gut feeling was that it was a girl, don’t ask me why, I just really felt that it was. But having a second look at the invitation, the gender of the baby is pretty obvious, isn’t it? I just hadn’t realised it until now. If you want to know whether Giuliana and Bill are having a boy or girl, keep reading. 

The happy couple is expecting a BOY!!! Giuliana announced the happy news on E! and on her twitter account saying “Beyond excited to announce @BillRancic and I are having a…………BOY!!!!!!!” It got me to thinking how commonplace it is these days to reveal the gender of unborn babies.

The Christian Science Monitor reported:

How many parents find out the sex of their baby before it is born? This is a hotly contested topic, of course. And as with pretty much everything about pregnancy, childbirth, and the “right” way to welcome new life into this world, people seem to feel perfectly entitled to offer their opinion about what others should do.

A quick Google search on the “should you find out the gender of your baby” question reveals scores of forums, chat groups and blog posts with impassioned “do” and “don’t” missives.

The reasons against range from “when else will you ever have this big a surprise?” to “don’t let yourself be biased by gender.” The pro camp tends to say that the birth is a big enough surprise as it is, thanks, and that some extra planning info is much appreciated. Besides, it’s easier to pick names, refer to the child as something other than “it,” and start laying down the law to excited grandparents about Disney Princesses and Power Rangers when you know the sex.

And Giuliana and Bill aren’t the only ones to reveal their baby news this week, Vanessa and Nick Lachey have also confirmed they are expecting a boy!

I’m very divided on the issue. Naturally, I don’t have any children yet so I haven’t had to decide. There is part of me that wants to keep it a surprise because I do like surprises, then on the flip side, I would also like to find out, but mistakes can always be made and I don’t want to have a completely pink room and then welcome a baby boy. But I do know that if I did find out the sex, I wouldn’t tell anyone. I also wouldn’t talk about names. But that’s just me

What about you? Where do you stand? Did you find out the sex of your baby? If you did, did you tell anyone? Do you prefer a surprise?

Picture of invites

4 comments

  1. Miss T · June 21, 2012

    I hate surprises and I can’t keep my own secrets. Give me that gender and I will tell the world!!

    • moniquefischle · June 21, 2012

      I love finding out the gender of people’s babies but I’m still really undecided on what I would do personally.

  2. Pingback: the low down according to mon – june 22 | the musings of monique
  3. Pingback: The Magic Song & Monique’s Celeb Top 5 | KiKi & Tea

Leave a Reply

