recipe: aussie burgers

I know burgers are traditionally a summer barbecue style food so you’re probably all thinking “why on earth is Monique making burgers in winter”? And I agree, it is a bit odd, but sometimes, you just get a craving for a burger and nothing else will do. This was one of those times. And when I saw the picture that accompanied this recipe in Super Food Ideas, my mouth was watering. So here is the delicious recipe for Aussie Burgers

Serves 4
400g heart-smart beef mince
1/2 cup fresh breadcrumbs
1 tablespoon worcestershire sauce
2 tablespoons tomato sauce
2 teaspoons olive oil
4 Bega So Extra Light Tasty Cheese slices
4 hamburger buns, halved, toasted
1 cup shredded iceberg lettuce
2 medium tomatoes, sliced
225 can beetroot slices, drained
1 medium red onion, thinly sliced
2 tablespoons barbecue sauce

Method
1. Preheat oven to 150/130 degrees Celsius fan-forced. Line a baking tray with baking paper.
2. Place mince, breadcrumbs, worcestershire and tomato sauce in a bowl. Season with pepper. Mix to combine. Shape into four 1.5cm-thick patties. Place on a plate. Cover. Refrigerate for 20 minutes.
3. Heat oil in a large, non-stick frying pan over medium heat. Cook patties for 4 minutes each side or until just cooked through. Transfer to prepared baking tray. Top each patties with 1 cheese slice. Bake for 5 minutes or until cheese has melted.
4. Place lettuce on roll bases. Top with tomato, beetroot, onion, patties and barbecue sauce. Sandwich with roll tops. Serve.

As usual, I changed things up a little. No fresh breadcrumbs and the mince was just lean beef mince and the cheese was just normal Bega. As for the salad quantities, I just cut up and prepared however much looked like it would be enough. When it came to toasting the hamburger buns, when I flipped the patties to the other side for another 4 minutes, I put the hamburger buns in the oven for those 4 minutes. Then I took them out, put in the patties covered with cheese and the buns were nice and crispy. I also didn’t add the extra barbecue sauce.

This is what the magazine one looked like:

This is what mine looked like:

All in all, a pretty tasty hamburger. Would definitely recommend it.

4 comments

  1. The Other Watson · June 12, 2012

    Yuuummm! Now I totally feel like a burger, and not the crappy noodles I just made… 😛

    • moniquefischle · June 12, 2012

      Sorry to contribute to the cravings, it was a delicious burger!

      • The Other Watson · June 12, 2012

        Hahaha, it looks and sounds good. I have never made patties from scratch before, I really should try that, I imagine it’d be a lot nicer. (I’m such a typical male in their 20s living alone, aren’t I? Hahhaa).

        • moniquefischle · June 12, 2012

          It’s not that difficult, that’s why I liked doing it! And yes, you are a typical male haha

Leave a Reply

