the low down according to mon – june 8

Hello dear friends and welcome to “the low down according to mon” where I fill you in on all the happenings around Hollywood and this week has been amazing. Engagements (which have made me beyond jealous), weddings, health scares, movie news and a crazy Kardashian music video, all in one week! If the most you read in school was a Grug book, head on over to KiKi & Tea at 4pm to check out my highlights version. All of this information was accurate when posted at 10AM (AEST)…

COUPLE NEWS

Did you hear the sounds of hearts breaking across the world (more specifically mine)? It all happened when Miley Cyrus and Liam Hemsworth officially announced their engagement after dating on and off for three years. In a statement made exclusively to PEOPLE Magazine, Miley said “I’m so happy to be engaged and look forward to a life of happiness with Liam.” The proposal took place on May 31. The singer then took to her Twitter thanking her fans saying “thank you for all the love today 🙂 i’m happy to share this news with you all. I feel like all my dreams are coming true.” And lets talk about the ring according to Neil Lane, it is a 3.5carat cushion-cut diamond ring, handcrafted in 18-karat gold with intricately carved diamond floral motifs in an art nouveau pattern. So unbelievably jealous, Liam, I thought we had a telepathic deal! Many have said that Miley is too young to be engaged at 19, I’ve written about it here. Both Tish and Billy Ray Cyrus have tweeted their support of their daughter’s engagement. I’m really happy for them!

In other amazing couple news, Drew Barrymore got married to Will Kopelman this past week. The third wedding for Drew (her first two both lasted less than six months), they got married in a private ceremony at Drew’s Californian Estate. The bride wore an ivory Chanel gown, with an embroidered flower train and a black waist band to accommodate her growing baby bump. In attendance were Reese Witherspoon and her hubby Jim Toth, Busy Philipps, Jimmy Fallon and bestie Cameron Diaz, who apparently read I Carry Your Heart With Me, the same poem she read in In Her Shoes. I think Drew looked simply glowing. Best wishes to the happy couple.

TELEVISION NEWS

News broke this week that Andy Samberg is leaving Saturday Night Live after being a cast member for seven years. When co-star Kristen Wiig left recently, rumours were flying that Andy would follow and they were right. “She kept saying it just feels like it’s her time,” Andy shared of Kristen’s decision. “I connect with that. Something about it just feels like it’s the moment. My contract’s up and I did so much more than I ever thought I would ever even do.” He will be sorely missed, but he won’t be disappearing!

The 2012 Critic’s Choice Awards Nominations were released this week with comedy Community leading the pack with six noms including Best Comedy (I only recently started watching Community and I think it’s hilarious, you should all watch it, seriously). You can see a full list of the nominees here. There were some surprising snubs, with Glee, 30 Rock, The Office and American Idol receiving absolutely nothing. Interesting.

REALITY TELEVISION NEWS

Last week I was telling you that Teen Mom star Amber Portwood decided to go with a five year prison sentence instead of complying with a court ordered drug program. Well this week, the young mumma was officially sentenced to a five year stint in prison. But there is good news, she was given credit for 120 already spent in prison and will likely spend only two years behind bars while ex Gary Shirley has full custody of Leah. Amber explained her decision to take prison over drug program saying she felt there would be more eyes on her. I really hope this works out for her.

MOVIE NEWS

I really, more than anything, want Lindsay Lohan to make a comeback and she’s doing all the right things to make that happen, first and fore mostly starring as Elizabeth Taylor in the Lifetime movie Liz & Dick. The first official photo was released this week and oh my goodness does Lohan look like Liz, more photos of Lohan and Grant Bowler who will play Richard Burton were also released. I really want her to nail this role and just be amazing. Are you with me? E! Online is.

Last week I was telling you the goss on the casting set of Catching Fire. If you remember, I was super excited at the prospect of Tim Riggins AKA Taylor Kitsch playing Finnick, but he’s just gone ahead and broken my heart by completely denying the rumours. I’m hoping he’s just being coy, but he shut it down pretty well saying “not going to happen”.

In other Catching Fire news, this week at the MTV Movie Awards (you can read a full wrap up courtesy of me here) in which The Hunger Games and The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part One cleaned up, Josh Hutcherson dished on the franchise’s new director Frances Lawrence. “I sat down with him a couple of days ago. He’s fantastic. He’s such a smart guy. He has some great ideas for the movie. I just really like where his head is at. I really like him a lot.” I’m sad Gary Ross didn’t sign on again, but at least Josh is happy.

Another week, another record that The Avengers have broken. Even though Snow White And The Huntsman knocked them out of the top spot in the American box office, The Avengers has overtaken Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part Two to become the third highest grossing film both domestically (in the US) and internationally, currently sitting on $1.36billion.

Check out the first official trailer for The Perks of Being A Wallflower starring the lovely Emma WatsonEzra Miller also stars, but all I will ever see him as is Kevin *shudders*

MUSIC NEWS

While I’m not a huge fan, I’ve come to love One Direction a little more this week, in particular Liam Payne. Apparently his lovely girlfriend Danielle Peazer was on the receiving end of some not so nice tweets from Directioners who aren’t happy Liam is taken. I love him for going on to defend her on Twitter saying “Just as I start to like twitter again I see the nasty side of people who like to dislike somebody who makes me … Me. #SometimesIHateTwitter when it becomes a place to abuse people who uve never met never did anything to you but you still choose to be cruel… and to all those people who are going to be d**ks and tweet her horrible stuff now just because i mentioned it … boring grow up”. He has had to defend her in the past as well. Seriously Directioners, back off and leave her alone!

John Mayer, who appears to be on a redemption tour, has spoken out about his reaction towards Taylor Swift‘s song Dear John which was written about him. In an interview with Rolling Stone he said “I’m pretty good at taking accountability now, and I never did anything to deserve that. It was a really lousy thing for her to do. I was really caught off guard, and it really humiliated me at a time when I’d already been dressed down.” He also went as far to call it cheap songwriting. What do you think?

Former Fleetwood Mac guitarist Bob Welch was found dead aged 65 in an apparent suicide. Apparently a suicide note was found. No further details yet, will let you know next week if anything else emerges.

The CMT Music Awards also happened this week, you can find out all you need to know here.

CELEBRITY NEWS

Funny girl Amanda Bynes is pretty adamant she doesn’t drink, a cop begs to differ. She was charged with a DUI and is so angry, she started tweeting US President Barack Obama asking for the cop to be fired. She tweeted “Hey @BarackObama… I don’t drink. Please fire the cop who arrested me. I also don’t hit and run. The end.” The actress is pleading not guilty, she is very insistent that she doesn’t drink and therefore shouldn’t be charged with a DUI. There are reports that she failed to take a chemical test to determine what substances, if any, she was on. If she really doesn’t drink, you would think that she would have happily taken the test. Who knows…

Paris Jackson, daughter of the late Michael Jackson, sat down with Oprah Winfrey recently to talk about her childhood and growing up with the King of Pop as your Dad. It’s worth having a look.

HEALTH NEWS

Her character died in the Desperate Housewives finale and now actress Kathryn Joosten has died at the age of 72. The actress died after a long battle with lung cancer, a storyline that was written into the show. She leaves behind two sons.

Singer Sheryl Crow has come out and said that she has a brain tumour. But before we all start freaking out, it’s a benign tumour and she’s doing fine. “I worried about my memory so much that I went and got an MRI. And I found out I have a brain tumor [sic]. It’s benign, so I don’t have to worry about it.” Here’s hoping it’s uncomplicated for Sheryl who has already battled breast cancer.

OTHER INTERESTING NEWS

Fear not Harry Potter lovers, JK Rowling is releasing a new Harry Potter book…sort of. Scheduled to be released in North America and Europe at the end of this year, JK is “penning” a new interactive book for Sony’s PlayStation 3. According to a Sony press release, Wonderbook: Book of Spells comes to life as you read it, allowing gamers to cast spells utilizing the console’s Playstation Move Motion Controller as a magic wand. JK has said it’s the closest “muggles” can come to a real spell book.

The Council of Fashion Designers America (CDFA) Awards also went on this week with Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen winning Womenswear Designers Of The Year. You can have a browse at the red carpet looks here. My favourites were Sophia Bush and Mandy Moore.

VIDEOS FOR THE WEEKEND

I couldn’t resist sharing this video with you all. I’m sure you’ve already seen it, but incase you haven’t, the Kardashians had some fun on a recent family vacation to the Dominican Republic to make a music video to Notorious B.I.G.‘s “Hypnotise”. I lose it when Bruce starts spanking Kris.

And to send you out on a heart warming note, you HAVE to watch this audition from America’s Got Talent. It is just WOW.

Picture of Miley’s ring.
Picture of Drew’s wedding.
Picture of Lindsay as Liz.
Picture of Amanda’s mugshot.  

Pictures in the banner found from here and here, editing changes made by Monique in Photoshop. 

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Miley’s Getting Married & Monique’s Celeb Top 5 | KiKi & Tea
  2. Poor old one directioneer and his lady. At least they can be assured that they are on the receiving end of a long running tradition in music. Poor Linda McCartney and Yoko Ono were the targets of some nasty crap based on who they happened to fall in love with. In the end, they had long and loving marriages and the immature teenagers presumably grew up to realise that they weren’t going to marry celebrities and that those celebrities were entitled to be happy.

    • moniquefischle · June 8, 2012

      I feel so bad for anyone in that situation. It just seems ridiculous that you would even say horrible things to and about them, it won’t magically make the celebrities leave them and then date you. Ah!

Leave a Reply

