recipe: penne boscaiola

I love me some pasta. If I was only allowed to eat one staple food for the rest of my life, it would probably be pasta. I love eating it in all climates, but colder weather is definitely the ideal pasta weather. I was looking through one of the Super Food Ideas magazines where I cam across a recipe for fettucine boscaiola, but instead of fettucine, I went for Penne Boscaiola.

Serves 4
350g dried penne pasta
2 teaspoons olive oil
4 Primo middle bacon rashers, rind removed, thinly sliced
200g Swiss brown mushrooms, thinly sliced
4 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
300ml light thickened cream
2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley leaves

Method
1.
 Cook pasta in a saucepan of boiling, salted water following packet directions until tender. Drain, reserving 1/3 cup liquid.
2. Meanwhile, heat oil in a large, deep frying pan over medium heat. Add bacon. Cook, stirring, for 4 to 5 minutes or until golden and crisp. Add mushrooms and garlic. Cook, stirring, for 3 to 4 minutes or until tender. Add cream and reserved liquid. Cook for 2 minutes or until heated through. Add pasta and parsley. Cook, tossing, for 1 minute or until heated through. Season with salt and pepper. Serve.

As usual, I changed a few things, like switching fettucine for penne, using whatever mushrooms I could find, using normal thickened cream and cutting out the parsley and salt and pepper. I diced both the bacon and the mushroom because I love the flavour of mushroom but hate the texture. I didn’t reserve any liquid either.

This is what the magazine one looked like:

This is what mine looked like:

It was delicious and I’m definitely going to make it again!

 

Leave a Reply

