review: what to expect when you’re expecting

Let me start this off by saying I don’t have children. I have never been pregnant, nor do I have any experience in adoption. I have not read the self-help baby-book “What To Expect When You’re Expecting” that this movie was based on. OK, now we can get started. I was lucky enough to go to an advanced screening of What To Expect When You’re Expecting last night (and by advanced, the movie comes out today) when my lovely best friend won free tickets. Gotta love a free movie night.

I have to admit, I went into this movie with pretty low expectations, having read some not so lovely reviews. But I was pleasantly surprised. The story follows a similar format to movies like He’s Just Not That Into You and Valentine’s Day with there being a few main stories and all the characters interrelated some how.

The main couples are:

– Holly (Jennifer Lopez) and Alex (Rodrigo Santoro) who are adopting a baby. Holly is a photographer and Alex joins the “dude group”.
– Jules (Cameron Diaz) and Evan (Matthew Morrison) who were partners on Celebrity Dance Factor and find out they’re pregnant. Jules is the host of a weight-loss show.
– Wendy (Elizabeth Banks) and Gary (Ben Falcone) who have been trying for two years and fall pregnant – Wendy runs a “The Breast Choice” store that advertises Holly’s photography and Gary appeared on Jule’s weight-loss show.
– Ramsey (Dennis Quaid) and Skyler (Brooklyn Decker) who have a huge age difference and find out their pregnant with twins. Ramsey is Gary’s dad.
– Rosie (Anna Kendrick) and Macro (Chase Crawford) who knew each other in high school and find out they are pregnant after a one night stand. Skyler is Rosie’s cousin.

There are lots of other characters, but those are the main five couples that the film focuses on. Special mention must be made of the “dude group”, with the amazing Chris Rock amongst other hilarious men and Rebel Wilson who delivered (get it?) some of my favourite lines. I really enjoyed this film. I thought it was funny and while most of the jokes were obvious, they still got people laughing.

It was really interesting to see how all the different couples interacted throughout the pregnancies. My favourite couple had to be Wendy and Gary, their comedic chemistry was fantastic and I think I will be most like Wendy when I’m pregnant. I also love Wendy’s interactions with Rebel’s character, Janice and Gary’s under-the-breath comments he makes to his dad, Ramsey. I found it weird that of all the women in Hollywood who have given birth, none of the actresses playing the expectant Mum’s have been pregnant before (with the exception of JLo, but she was adopting).

While I enjoyed it, it was different than I expected. Being based on a self help book, I expected it to bare some resemblance to the format of He’s Just Not That Into You, drawing on advice from the book. I thought that maybe it would have the different couples looking at the book throughout the film and commenting on what was and wasn’t to be expected during that stage of pregnancy. Instead, the book has only a fleeting appearance and it felt like the movie was just about a bunch of pregnant women. And there’s nothing wrong with that, I just felt that the movie didn’t hold much basis in the book it was supposedly based on; so if you’re wanting to see it so you don’t have to read it, I’d give it a miss.

Overall, I thought it was a funny light-hearted comedy (even though I did get teary a few times) and I’d be happy to watch it again. Oh and no WAY does anyone look as toned as Cameron Diaz when they’re pregnant, I’m calling bullshit!

Here’s the trailer if you missed it (though there are a few lines in there that I don’t remember seeing in the film):

Picture of movie poster

Leave a Reply

