recipe: roasted chicken rigatoni with mushrooms and broccoli sauce

This week on my cooking adventures, I didn’t use a Nigella recipe. Shocking, I know. But instead I chose a recipe that you find in the supermarket catalogues. I went with Curtis Stone in the “feed your family for under $10″and decided to try his Roasted Chicken Rigatoni with Mushroom and Broccoli Sauce

Serves 4
2 Coles Brand chicken marylands
2 tbsp olive oil
1 cup Coles Brand thickened cream
2 cloves garlic, peeled
2 sprigs fresh thyme
150g small broccoli florets
300g Coles Brand rigatoni
200g punnet cup mushrooms, sliced
1/2 small brown onion, finely chopped
1/2 cup (40g) Mil Lel shaved parmesan cheese

Method
1.
 Preheat oven to 180 (160 fan forced). Season chicken with salt and pepper and place on an oven tray lined with baking paper. Drizzle with 1 tablespoon olive oil and roast for 50-55 minutes or until cooked through.
2. Remove from oven and stand for 15 minutes. Once cooled, discard skin, pull meat off bone and tear into bit size pieces.
3. Place cream, garlic and thyme in a small saucepan over medium heat. Bring to a simmer then turn off heat and left flavours infuse.
4. Blanch broccoli in a medium pot of salted boiling water for about 4 minutes, until just tender. Drain and set aside on paper towels to absorb any extra water.
5. Place broccoli in a food processor and pour in the cream mixture (discarding the thyme). Blend until smooth. Season to taste with salt and pepper.
6. Bring a large saucepan of salted water to the boil and cook pasta until al dente, about 13 minutes, according to packet instructions.
7. Place a large non-stick frying pan over high heat and add remaining oil. Once very hot, brown the mushrooms for 4 minutes. Reduce heat, add onion and cook for 3 minutes until softened. Season with salt and pepper.
8. Add chicken and cook for 3-4 minutes until reheated. Pour broccoli sauce over chicken and toss to combine.
9. Drain pasta and add to frying pan. Carefully combine and pour onto serving platter. Garnish with parmesan and serve immediately.  

I didn’t changed anything in the recipe with the exception of buying my ingredients from Woolworths and not Coles (I dare say Curtis won’t be too happy about that but whatevs).

Here’s what Curtis’ looked like:

Here’s what mine looked like:

To start off with, I want to know how on earth Curtis’ sauce doesn’t look more green when you think about the amount of broccoli in it. Also, while a (relatively) simple recipe, it requires a lot of different pans. I had two frypans, two saucepans, an oven roasting dish and a food processor (except I used a “blitz stick” but I still had to use a container for that) and that is a lot of washing up. I know that Curtis chose the Chicken Marylands because they are cheap, but in future, I think I’d just buy an already roasted BBQ chicken, it’s just a bit to squeamish for me to want to tear off the flesh of the Marylands again. Otherwise, it was relatively tasty.

 

2 comments

  1. Looks good. I have filed it in my recipe app 🙂

Leave a Reply

