recipe: nigella’s soup made with garlic and love

Recently, my poor sister had all of her wisdom teeth removed and so I decided to make a soup for her. As I have mentioned before, it is one of the things that I love about winter. I just simply adore soup. I also have a bit of a soft spot for garlic so when the recipe in Nigella’s Kitchen cookbook for her Soup made with garlic and love, I thought it ticked all the boxes.

Serves 4
1 bulb garlic
1 leek, cleaned and trimmed
3 x 15ml tablespoons regular olive oil
1 heaped tablespoon chopped fresh thyme
2 baking potatoes, approx. 400g total
1.5 litres chicken stock, preferably organic
salt and pepper to taste
few spoonfuls chopped fresh parsley to serve

Method:
1. Free each clove from the bulb of garlic, then peel and slice them as thinly as possible.
2. Halve the leek and also slice thinly. Heat the oil in a heavy-based pan which comes with a lid, and cook the leek gently for about 5 minutes with the lid off, stirring every now and again, until soft.
3. Add the thyme leaves and sliced garlic and cook gently for another 5 minutes, as above.
4. Cut the potatoes (with skin on) into small dice, then add them to the pain, giving a good stir with your wooden spoon.
5. Add the stock and bring the pain to the boil. Simmer for 20 minutes partially covered, then season with salt and pepper to taste. Turn off the heat and let it sit for a few minutes before serving, sprinkling with parsley as you hand out bowls.

Remarkably, I didn’t change anything in the recipe except I forgot to season with salt and pepper and didn’t have any parsley, but the soup still tasted good. I also used “baby new” potatoes.

This is what Nigella’s looked like:

This is what mine looked like:

I really enjoyed the soup, but next time, I would add in more garlic. You would think that an entire bulb of garlic would be enough, but apparently not.

Leave a Reply

