recipe: pork wonton soup

Becoming a domestic goddess is hard work, but I feel like I’m handling it quite well (if I do say so myself). Today’s recipe comes from an old Woolworths Fresh magazine (that was free!!!) and it’s to make Pork Wonton Soup. I know that Rosso thinks everyone is being a food snob/blogger these days, but really, I just want to share some good recipes with you!

Serves 4
200g pork mince
5 whole water chestnuts, drained and finely chopped
2 green shallots, finely chopped
1 tbs Home Brand Oyster Sauce
1 tsp cornflour
24 gow gee wrappers
4 cups chicken stock
4 coups cold water
1/4 cup salt-reduced soy sauce
2 tsp sesame oil
1 bunch baby bok choy, roughly shredded and lime wedges to serve

Method:
1.
Combine the mince, chestnuts, shallots and oyster sauce in a bowl. Season with salt and pepper.
2.
Mix cornflour with 1 tbs cold water to make a smooth paste. Lay 3 gow gee wrappers on a bench top. Put a teaspoon of mince mixture in the centre of each. Brush edges with cornflour paste. Bring corners up and press to form a sack shape. Repeat with remaining wrappers and filling.
3.
Pour stock and water into a large deep saucepan and bring to the boil over high heat. Add soy sauce, sesame oil and wontons. Cook for 3 to 4 minutes or until soft. Add bok choy and cook for 2 minutes or until just wilted. Ladle soup, wontons and bok choy into soup bowls and serve. 

I made a few changes (but not many) to the recipe. First of all, I switched water chestnuts for carrots as I can’t stand water chestnuts. I also didn’t season the mixture with salt and pepper. I used normal soy sauce as opposed to salt-reduced and only put in 2 tbs. I added in some extra shallots to the broth along with the bok choy (and didn’t serve with lime), but other than that, everything stayed the same.

This is what the Woolworths one looked like:

This is what mine looked like:

It is delicious! Definitely one of my all-time favourite recipes.

Leave a Reply

