j.k. rowling to release first non-harry book

I love Harry Potter. This isn’t something I’m ashamed to admit. In fact, I love it so much that when you tell me you don’t like/hate Harry, I die a little bit inside. I love everything about it, I love the books and the movies; I love the characters, the intricate plotlines and the whole magical world. I love that it taught a generation of children to love reading and all the lovely little life lessons that come with it, usually from Dumbledore. My friends have often joked that my kids will grow up thinking they are going to Hogwarts (I apologise for this in advance, future children).

I don’t think you can love Harry Potter without also loving its creator, the wonderful JK Rowling. I wish I had a brain as brilliant as hers so that I could come up with something as wonderful and magical as Harry. To say that she is an incredible writer is an understatement; there’s a reason she’s the first author to become a billionaire.

Now that the Harry saga is officially over with no new books and movies to be released, I’m missing it. I know that sounds ridiculous, but I miss being able to devour new material. So imagine my excitement when J.K. Rowling recently announced the title and release date for her first non-Harry book. According to her new publisher, Little, Brown:

Little, Brown Book Group announces that the new novel for adults by J.K. Rowling is entitled The Casual Vacancy.  The book will be published worldwide in the English language in hardback, ebook, unabridged audio download and on CD on Thursday 27th September 2012.

The Casual Vacancy

When Barry Fairweather dies unexpectedly in his early forties, the little town of Pagford is left in shock.

Pagford is, seemingly, an English idyll, with a cobbled market square and an ancient abbey, but what lies behind the pretty façade is a town at war.

Rich at war with poor, teenagers at war with their parents, wives at war with their husbands, teachers at war with their pupils… Pagford is not what it first seems.

And the empty seat left by Barry on the parish council soon becomes the catalyst for the biggest war the town has yet seen. Who will triumph in an election fraught with passion, duplicity and unexpected revelations?

Blackly comic, thought-provoking and constantly surprising, The Casual Vacancy is J.K. Rowling’s first novel for adults.

First things first, I feel that Rowling made an error in calling her protagonist Barry; she has opened herself up for criticism here. But apart from that, I’m not sure how I feel about this. I feel like I will be expecting it to be exactly like Harry and that I’ll be disappointed when I find that it isn’t (and it shouldn’t have to be). There’s part of me that doesn’t want her to write anything that isn’t Harry, but the other part of me thinks that it would be unfair to expect an author as talented as Rowling to never publish anything else.

I feel very torn about this, but I know I will still read the book anyway, because I love Rowling and I’m sure this book will be fantastic.

Where do you stand? Are you excited to read Rowling’s new book? Will you? Or do you think she should have just stayed with Harry? 

Originally published on Kiki & Tea.

5 comments

  1. Fiona @ lifelyricslemoncake · April 18, 2012

    Oh, I hadn’t noticed the name, ‘Barry.’ Oh dear!
    I’m with you. I am afraid that it won’t compare at all to Harry Potter, yet I will read it.
    Harry Potter was a big part of my life, too. I loved it.

    • moniquefischle · April 18, 2012

      I think that Barry was a poor choice. There are so many names out there and she chose that one? It almost makes her seem lazy, which she clearly isn’t.

      Harry has been a huge part of my life and like you said, I don’t think “The Current Vacancy” will compare, but I’m intrigued.

  2. Jeyna Grace · April 18, 2012

    I think it is good she moved on, but i am not too sure about the genre.
    The names in her new book is so similar to Harry potter…

    • moniquefischle · April 18, 2012

      She had to move on and it would have been incredibly difficult to do so. I think the change in genre was a smart move, as it will be harder to compare to Harry.

  3. Rich. · April 23, 2012

    Harry from Hog-whatsies…. hehehehe…… Barry from Pagford? Really ? oh myyyyyyy…. Next book will be Larry Trotter from Fagsville…. bahahaha.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

