farewell one tree hill

From this..

...To this

It’s the end of an era. It’s time to say goodbye to One Tree Hill after nine seasons, 187 episodes, two television networks and six different time slots. One Tree Hill premiered in September 2003, right around my 13th birthday and I quickly fell in love with the show. My life was pretty intense when the show aired and I used it, along with The O.C., as a form of escapism; I would immerse myself in their storylines to distract myself from my not so happy situation.

And a love affair was born.

We broke up briefly after Lucas Scott (Chad Michael Murray) and Peyton Sawyer (Hilarie Burton) left at the end of Season 6. I felt that Season 6 wrapped up all the loose ends and it felt like the series was over for me. I tried once to watch Season 7 but got half way through the first episode and decided that this wasn’t One Tree Hill, not really.

But then it came to the final days of filming and Sophia Bush (who plays Brooke Davis) and Bethany Joy Lenz (who plays Haley James Scott) tweeted pictures from the set and final farewells. I started to feel all nostalgic and decided I’d give Season 7 another try and I did and fell in love all over again.

I would try and sum up the series in a few sentences, but it’s far too complicated, so if you haven’t seen it and are curious, head over to the Wikipedia page (because that’s always totally accurate, right?) and check it out.

Tonight, the final ever episode of One Tree Hill will air and I thought I’d start off the final goodbye by looking over my favourite episodes from each season.

Season One – Episode 17 “Spirit In The Night”
It’s where everyone starts to really bond, Haley even more with Peyton and with Brooke, Lucas and Nathan start to tolerate each other and we get to see Mouth’s awesome dancing skills.

Season Two – Episode 22 “The Tide That Left And Never Came Back”
It’s the first part of the season finale and I love it. I love that the episode starts and ends with this George Bernard Shaw quote, as part of the Tree Hill students English final. I especially love Peyton’s response.

Season Three – Episode 16 “With Tired Eyes, Tired Minds, Tired Souls, We Slept”

The school shooting episode is so unbelievably well done. I’m fascinated by the psychology behind shootings and I think this episode shows it as best you can. This is also a pivotal episode in the series as the characters always come back to the fact that Dan killed Keith.

Season Four – Episode 9 “Some You Give Away”

The Tree Hill Ravens  FINALLY win the State Championship. I love this episode. I love that Whitey finally wins. I love the whole “It’s you Peyton” part and the song that’s playing. I love that Dan steps up for Nathan.

Season Five – Episode 12 “Hundred”

Even though this is potentially the worst wedding ever in Tree Hill, behind Keith’s almost wedding to Jules (or Emily), I really like this episode. I love Skills encouraging Peyton to say something. I love that Lindsey realises Lucas’s true feelings (and the song playing on the DVD version when she has the realisation). And I like that Dan is the one who saves Jamie.

Season Six – Episode 24 “Remember Me As A Time Of Day”

The season finale and the farewell to Lucas and Peyton. For me, this episode wraps everything up nicely. It could have been the end of the series.

Season Seven – Episode 8 “(I Just) Died In Your Arms Tonight”

I love the bonding that happens in this episode. Between Julian and the rest of the guys. And Quinn with Brooke and Haley. It’s also hilarious seeing Brooke and Haley stoned.

Season Eight – Episode 13 “The Other Half Of Me”

Brooke’s wedding to Julian is my favourite of all the Tree Hill weddings. Brooke deserves a happy ending and it’s fantastic to watch her get one. Their vows are also my favourite.

(For the YouTube clip, this was the only one I could find that wasn’t a montage, so try to ignore the subtitles)

Season Nine – Episode 11 “Danny Boy”

I never thought I would see the day where I would shed real tears when Dan Scott died, but I did. This episode was probably one of my favourite of the entire series. It was so well written and I was so surprised to see Keith return (that was kept underwraps really well)

Special mention from Season Nine also goes to Clay’s proposal to Quinn. Cutest proposal ever! And the Logan storyline = mind blowing!

I’m so excited to watch the finale episode tonight. Stay tuned for my thoughts on the finale!

Leave a Reply

