recipe: nigella’s spanish chicken with chorizo and potatoes

I’ve recently decided it’s time to start training to be a Domestic Goddess. I’ve been a lover of Nigella Lawson for such a long time and I own three of her cookbooks (Kitchen, Nigella Bites and How To Be A Domestic Goddess, in case you were wondering). It has come to my attention lately that when I actually cook a meal, it’s rarely from a recipe and is something simple like pasta or meat and veg.

I made the executive decision that every Monday night, I will cook dinner for the family (yes, I still live at home) and I will use recipes as opposed to the basic staples. So last night, I decided to try Nigella’s Spanish Chicken with Chorizo and Potatoes.

Serves 6

2 x 15ml tablespoons regular olive oil
12 chicken thighs (bone in, with skin)
750g chorizo sausages, whole if baby ones, or cut into 4cm chunks if regular-sized
1kg new potatoes, halved
2 red onions, peeled and roughly chopped
2 teaspoons dried oregano
Grated zest 1 orange

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 220°C/gas mask 7. Put the oil in the bottom of 2 shallow roasting tins, 1 tablespoon in each. Rub the skin of the chicken in the oil, then turn skin-side up, 6 pieces in each tin.
2. Divide the chorizo sausages and the new potatoes between the 2 tins. Sprinkle the onion and the oregano over, then grate the orange zest over the contents of the 2 tins.
3. Cook for 1 hour, but after 30 minutes, swap the top tray with the bottom tray in the oven and baste the contents with the orange-coloured juices.

I decided to make some changes to the recipe, not because Nigella isn’t amazing, I just wanted to. For starters, I was only cooking for 4 so I changed the portions of ingredients significantly. I also had a really large roasting tin so I only needed the one for the four of us.

Instead of just using chicken thighs, I used a combination of thighs (4) and drumsticks (4) so that we had one of each. I also changed up the potatoes (used baby cream, as no new potatoes were available) with some sweet potato for something different. I also only used two regular sized Chorizo’s, anything more would have been too much. I also found that half a large red onion was more than enough for the four of us but easily could have used more if I wanted to. I used powdered oregano (instead of dried or fresh) and just sprinkled it over the tray evenly.

I also changed the temperature to 180°C/fan-forced but stuck with the same time. I’m really glad I did this, as some of the Chorizo was starting to get a little burnt.

These changes might not work for you, but they worked well for me.

This is what Nigella’s looks like:

This is what mine looked like:

I was impressed and it tasted fantastic as well. I served it with some green beans. You just as easily could have served it alone.

Stay tuned for more culinary adventures…

4 comments

  1. theotherwatson · April 3, 2012

    That looks so good, ahhh! I love Nigella Lawson, I need to get some of her cookbooks. I’ve been eating from too many “healthy” cookbooks and they’re getting boring 😛

    • moniquefischle · April 3, 2012

      It tasted so good and it’s very minimal effort. Only took around 10-15 minutes to prepare then was in the oven for the rest of the time!

      I love Nigella, she’s my kind of chef 🙂 I’m making her Apple and Walnut cake for my Dads birthday at the end of this month, should be interesting.

      • theotherwatson · April 3, 2012

        I think that’s what’s impressive about it, as well, is that it is so simple and looks so easy to prepare, even a cooking buffoon like myself could get this right! 😛 I am definitely going to have to try this one, I think!
        And that Apple and Walnut cake sounds amazing already. *drools*

  2. Pingback: recipe: creamy chicken korma | the musings of monique

Leave a Reply

