haters be hating

There are some women in Hollywood that other women just love to hate. Gwyneth Paltrow is one of them. And for the most part, I am baffled by this.

I am a lover of Gwyneth, and apart from the fact that she named her children Apple and Moses, she seems like she’s a pretty decent person, a great singer (as seen in Glee and Country Strong) and an amazing actress (see Shakespeare In Love).

The main reason, I’ve found, that people are hating on Gwyneth is she is so blissfully out of touch with everyday life, yet acts like she’s just a normal, everyday person.

She has an online newsletter called GOOP in which she often posts about cooking, exercise and just being a regular mum by focusing on an action (make, go, get, do, be, see). But this celebrity is very out of touch with the modern world.

Gwyneth has been on record as saying “I am who I am. I can’t pretend to be somebody who makes $25,000 a year”. While possessing many skills, it seems humility isn’t one of them.

Paltrow released her own cookbook My Father’s Daughter (you can buy it here from the Book Depository) which is said to be inspired by her late father Bruce Paltrow. While including basics like mac’n’cheese (because figuring out a recipe for that by yourself would be so difficult) and burgers, the book also features fancier food like seafood paella and duck ragu.

My Father’s Daughter has recently come under scrutiny from The New York Times, claiming that it was written with the help of a ghostwriter. The article, I Was A Cookbook Ghostwriter, features Gwyn’s book as the main picture and says, in part:

Julia Turshen, who is writing a second cookbook with Gwyneth Paltrow after their collaboration on “My Father’s Daughter”, began as the ghostwriter for the ghostwriter on a book by Mario Batali, tagging along with a notebook as the chef filmed a culinary romp through Spain.

Read the full article here.

Gwyn defended herself by tweeting “Love @nytimes dining section but this weeks facts need checking. No ghost writer on my cookbook, I wrote every word myself.”

On GOOP she reviews restaurants, and many feel it is a giant leap to be publishing her own cookbook. It seems actress isn’t enough; she must also be super mum, singer and foodie extraordinaire.

There is a strong vegan/vegetarian approach to the cookbook as she herself doesn’t eat red meat and daughter Apple is a vegetarian. I’ve flicked through the cookbook once to see if it was worthwhile. And the food does look good, most of the time, but fish tacos? Really? And the ingredients make her seem more out of touch with the everyday as they are either really expensive or rare.

This adds to public dislike of good ol’ Gwynnie as she tries too hard to appear to fit into a world she has never belonged to.

I’ve found that most are indifferent to her as they feel that she hasn’t really done anything worthwhile since Shakespeare In Love in 1998. While she’s popped up recently with Iron Man, Country Strong and guest appearances on Glee, before then, it was mostly B-grade films scattered here and there.

While many, like myself, think she has a fantastic voice that was showcased well on Glee and in her new movie Country Strong, the actress/singer, once again, seems to have issues with humility. In an interview with E! on her guest role on Glee, she basically said “I’d never watched Glee before they asked me to do the show and I turned up and had to learn all this really intricate choreography really fast and I think I really nailed it.”

There’s also the mystery of her marriage with Coldplay front-man Chris Martin. The two are rarely, if ever, spotted out and about together, leading many to wonder if the marriage is just for show (but for who?). While it can be respected that the couple wants their privacy, I’m pretty sure it’s OK to step out with your husband every once in a while.

One of their rare sightings together

When it comes to anyone, haters be hating. You either love someone or you don’t and if you’re strong in either persuasion, it will be very difficult to convince you otherwise.

With Gwyneth, I happen to like her, but I do think she needs to take a page out of the book of humility and to also realise that it’s OK that she’s rich and famous and to stop pretending like she’s an everyday person, as she’s not.

Leave a Reply

