my name is monique and i’m addicted to buying books

I have a confession to make. I’m an addict. A book buying addict. It’s something I’ve been aware of for quite some time but lately it has come to my attention that the reason I don’t have a whole lot of money in my savings is because I spent it all on buying books (as well as DVDs of movies and television shows).

There are books stacked behind the books. It's a little chaotic.

I have little space to store my books (despite having an overflowing library made up of Dad’s books) and have had to stack books in my bookcase, hiding others from view, just to fit them all. Because I was organising my books purely just to fit into the space, there was no order to how they were organised.

I was starting to forget what books I owned as many were hidden behind other piles of books. I love alphabetising my books and DVDs. Some people find this ridiculous, but to me, organising things alphabetically makes the most sense because I feel it makes everything easier to find.

Note: any title starting with “The” is not filed under “T” unless the second word also begins with “T”, “The Notebook”, for example, is filed under “N”.

After being incredibly bored, I decided to do a book inventory, alphabetically of course. After logging all my books, including cookbooks, I counted them and discovered that I own 229 books! While some have been gifts, the majority, I have purchased myself. Borders, Angus and Robertson, Dymocks and The Book Depository have all made quite a lot of money from yours truly.

I’ve spent anywhere from $5 to $50 on books ($50 on the cookbooks). By generalising and pretending that I purchased all of my books at $15 a pop, I’ve spent around $3,435 on books!

Even with this many options, it's exceptionally hard to choose something to watch.

When looking over my movie and television show DVD collection, I counted 112 movies and 57 seasons of 11 different television shows. Again, some I have received as gifts, but by also generalising and pretending I bought every movie at around $12 each, I’ve spent around $1,344 on movies. If I apply this again to television shows at an average of $20 a season, I’ve spent around $1,140 on television shows.

So all up, I’ve spent around $5,919 on books and DVDs. That is absolutely ridiculous! I could have been saving that money and earning interest, instead I have an increasing book and DVD collection. At least I have something to show for my money as opposed to people who spend all their money on drugs, alcohol and gambling.

If I could go back in time and redo my purchases, I wouldn’t change much, but maybe be a bit more ruthless when it came to buying books.

On a side note: I’ve realised recently that I will happily buy a book I have never read before, but I wouldn’t buy a film I hadn’t seen (unless it was part of a pack and I’d seen the other movies). Does anyone else do this? Why do you think we do it?

What do you spend most of your money on?

14 comments

  1. Rachel Stewart · March 12, 2012

    I am a travel junkie. Once I get a couple of thousand in my bank I take off. Upon returning I’m scraping the cupboard for those 2 min noodles and struggling to survive. All so I can do it again! LOVE IT! xx

  2. Rachel Stewart · March 12, 2012

    And you don’t want to know how much money I’ve spend on my habbit. It’s something round the $30 000 mark. EEEEEKKKKK!!

    • moniquefischle · March 12, 2012

      I do enjoy travelling also. I was thinking of where I could have gone if I didn’t spend all my money on books and DVDs! The memories you get a priceless though, and worth every cent, I think!

  3. beyondneverland · March 12, 2012

    My god, I would love to have just half of your bookshelf! I splurge a lot on my books as well, but being a student that limits the amount of books I can buy before I’m completely broke 🙂 Love the whole section dedicated to Harry Potter though 😀

    • moniquefischle · March 12, 2012

      I LOVE Harry Potter! Like really love Harry! I’m only 21 and was a student and am now “unemployed” but I just can’t stop buying books. The Book Depository is really cheap and free delivery so you should check them out

      • beyondneverland · March 12, 2012

        I don’t think I’ve ever not love Harry ❤ Growing up with him and all, waiting every year for another book or movie to come out. I've hear of the Book Depository, but was scared of the high shipping cost so haven't checked them out. Now that you told me it's free, I think I shall bundle myself over there asap 🙂

  4. faerygodmother · March 13, 2012

    6 years ago a got my ideal job, I work in a bookstore. In some ways it’s great because I do get some books for free, in others it’s awful because i spend so much of my pay at work. You are not alone. I currently own over 500 books and somewhere over 600 DVDs. And thats not including the huge amount I’ve leant to other people and never gotten back. I shudder to think of how much I have spent over the years to go by your estimate. I do know that my insurance doesn’t cover it and if I did want them ALL covered I’d have to do an inventory like yours. Then I look at the shelves and realsie I simply don’t have that sort of time.
    I do buy movies I haven’t seen before if they are cheap enough. I generally have a pretty good idea if it’s going to be something I’ll like, I follow quite a few movie review sites and I figure, for $10 I’d pay nearly that to borrow it anyway.

    • moniquefischle · March 13, 2012

      I often think how devastated I’d be if there were a fire at my house, because I wouldn’t be able to grab all my books and they’re uninsured. If I could only take one, I’d take my signed copy of “The Notebook” by Nicholas Sparks.

      I would love to work at a bookshop. I always planned on working at a bookshop while being a novelist, but then all the bookshops started closing down. It makes me sad.

      I wish I had as extensive a book and DVD collection as you!

      • faerygodmother · March 13, 2012

        Yeah, job security is a bit of a worry at the moment. I have NO idea what book i would grab if I could only grab one. Probably whatever i happen to be reading at the time.
        As for my collection, well, it’s pretty much my only luxury. I don’t really buy new clothes till the old ones have too many holes in them. I’m daggy but well read 🙂

  5. subathrad · May 7, 2012

    that’s alot of money spent! but hey, investment I reckon? Maybe someday I’ll actually count the number of books I have too!

    • moniquefischle · May 7, 2012

      I haven’t regretted my purchases and I don’t think I ever will. I daresay I have quite a bit more now, I just can’t stop buying books!

  6. subathrad · May 7, 2012

    Same here! but, I can never bring myself to go to the library. what an irony! I love the feeling of owning the book I’m reading..

  7. Pingback: little white lies in shopping | the musings of monique

Leave a Reply

