archive: i’m no masterchef

I’ve been home in Newcastle for a few weeks during uni holidays (I study Journalism at Charles Sturt University Bathurst) and during that time, I’ve been watching quite a lot of the Food Channel on Foxtel with my Dad. Our favourites are Ace of Cakes, Cake Boss, Nigella Bites and Donna Hay Fast, Fresh and Simple (even though she showed a chicken schnitzel recipe where she only crumbed ONE SIDE of the chicken breast!! I know, right!).

I’ve always been a massive ‘eatie’ – not to be confused with a ‘foodie’. I LOVE to eat and graze and love most food in general (with the main exceptions of most seafood and eggplant). But I’m not all about fancy food (like a foodie), I’m about yum food, even if that means something as simple as spaghetti, olive oil and parmesean cheese.

I’m also a pretty big fan of MasterChef Australia. While not everyone is loving Season Three, I’m still pretty into it. Apart from making me hungry and wish you could eat food straight out of the television, it also gives me some great cooking ideas.

My favourite ever celebrity chef has to be Nigella Lawson.

I love this woman. Her food ALWAYS looks delicious and for the most part is fairly inexpensive and quite easy to make. I also love that she doesn’t skimp on the good stuff – like butter.

This past week has been a fun cooking week for me and my Dad. We’ve made Nigella’s Devil’s Food Cake (one of the best chocolate cakes ever), Tuscan Roast Pork Belly (yum, yum, yum), amazing Potato Rosti’s and the most delicious Pork Wonton Soup. I feel like we’ve been little masterchef’s and I’ve really enjoyed cooking with Dad.

This week I suddenly realised that I actually really enjoy cooking. Like really. I love the flavours, the textures, and the smells!! I enjoy trialing unfamiliar ingredients and trying out recipes found in free food magazines (hello Pork Wonton’s).

But at the same time, as much as I love cooking, I don’t feel like doing it everyday (to gourmet style) and I certainly don’t want to do it as a career.

And I think that this is where some people go wrong.

Just because you love cooking doesn’t mean you should be a chef; just because you enjoy writing doesn’t mean you should publish a book and just because you like helping people doesn’t mean you should become a counsellor.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that enjoying something doesn’t mean you should create a career out of it. It’s OK to have hobbies. Cooking will remain one of mine.

Originally published 8th July 2011

2 comments

  1. xxxMissVxxx · December 3, 2011

    How true! The main thing that always bugged me abotu MasterChef were the people who went on and on about it being a life long dream to be a chef. Well why didn’t they go do an apprenticeship like anyone else would have!!

    I admire anyone who loves cooking mostly because i hate it myself!

    • moniquefischle · December 3, 2011

      I know, right? If you really wanted to be a chef, do an apprenticeship!

Leave a Reply

