stop with the skinny bashing

I want to start this off by saying that I wouldn’t consider myself to be skinny, but I wouldn’t consider myself to be fat. I’m 173cm tall (5″7), I weigh just over 70kgs and I wear between a size 12 and a size 14. While I have my moments, I’m overall happy with my appearance.

I used to be a heck of a lot skinnier but then 18 hit and the weight started piling on. In fact, over the past 3 years I’ve put on 15kgs and haven’t gotten any taller. And luckily for me, no one has called me fat. Below is a picture of me dressed up as Hermione Granger and it’s a pretty good picture at conveying my size normally and I think I look OK.

But I’m not here to talk about the fact that I’m OK with how I look. I’m here to say STOP WITH THE SKINNY BASHING! I’m really starting to get over it! It has irritated me immensely over the years and after some of the items that have been in the news this week, I just couldn’t keep it in anymore.

The first thing that happened was Miley Cyrus fought back after people started calling her fat! She posted a picture of an anorexic girl on her Twitter saying “By calling girls like me fat this is what you’re doing to other people. i love MYSELF & if you could say the same you wouldn’t be sitting on your computer trying to hurt others”.

This was actually one of the first moments I’ve felt affection for the singer/actress and inside I was saying “GO MILEY”! Her fans went nuts on Twitter, sharing their support and she tweeted one of them back this:

Truer words could not be spoken! But then when I read it again, I realised that by priding herself on being shaped “like a woman”, she was inadvertently skinny bashing.

Then came an article on CELEBRITYFIX.com about “‘Skinny’ Kate Middleton disappoints school kids”. It read, in part:

But latey Katey’s un-Royal attire wasn’t the only thing the kiddies complained about – apparently they don’t approve of her figure, either.

Another mother told The Mail that while  the students thought she was “pretty”, “some of the older children said she looked skinnier than she did in the photos.”

You can read the full article here.

This made me genuinely annoyed. Why? Because I’m sick of people thinking it’s OK for criticising someone for looking skinny, but if someone is called fat, it’s as though they committed a cardinal sin. Neither is OK, but people really do love the skinny bashing.

I’m friends with quite a few very skinny girls, and I mean very skinny, but they aren’t like that by choice. Despite what many will think and despite the fact that some will say I’m lying, these girls are naturally thin, it’s just the way they are! Someone with one of the biggest appetites I’ve ever met, is also one of the skinniest. And no, she’s not bulimic, she’s literally, just naturally thin.

I have other friends who desperately try to put on weight and can’t. And it seems to me that the overwhelming majority feel it’s OK to taunt their weight struggles, but it’s bad to do it to a slightly larger person.

As for Kate Middleton, look at her!

I think she looks absolutely stunning! Granted, I sometimes think she’s on the skinnier side of things, but I’m not going to judge her for that. Put yourself in her shoes. She is now a DUCHESS and will be the FUTURE QUEEN OF ENGLAND! If that’s not enough pressure already, she is always in the public eye with newspapers, magazines, morning talk-shows (you name it), commenting on her appearance. I can only imagine that she would be dealing with a great deal of stress. And clearly, she’s not a stress-eater, so I feel that the weight would be falling off her gorgeous body, but so what? Yeah, she’s skinny, but get over it! Don’t be hating because you’re jealous.

I just want to say one last time STOP WITH THE SKINNY BASHING! Some women genuinely cannot help it and have been forever skinny, and imagine how frustrating it is for them to go clothes shopping in the hopes of finding outfits that make them look “like a woman” and to have people like Miley reminding them that they look like little girls.

It goes both ways people, don’t be hating!

Rant over…for now.

6 comments

  1. Shannon · November 30, 2011

    I found this via your post on Mamamia. As a naturally skinny 21yo, could I just say…

    THANK YOU. A million time, thank you.

  2. Miss T · November 30, 2011

    YES! A thousand times yes. Although if everyone could stop bashing people of all sizes that would be even better.

    • moniquefischle · November 30, 2011

      Agreed! I hope I wasn’t coming across as bashing anyone except the bashers. As long as you’re happy with how you look – good for you 🙂

    • moniquefischle · October 11, 2012

      Thanks for sharing it Kristin. It may have been written a while ago but I still mean every word (though I have lost weight since then). It irritates me so much. It’s not OK to comment on anyone’s appearance in a derogatory kind of way.

Leave a Reply

