foot in mouth for ashton kutcher

The King of Twitter (aka Ashton Kutcher) proved this past week that it really pays to think before we speak. This Twitter fiend made a bit of a blunder last Wednesday night when he tweeted this:

He is tweet in reference to Joe Paterno, coach Penn State’s football team, who was fired Wednesday night over concerns that he didn’t try to stop alleged serial pedophile and former assistant coach Jerry Sandusky (who was arrested over the weekend and accused of sexually abusing eight boys over a 15 year span).

Kutcher clearly had no idea that this was the reason behind “Jo Pa” being fired. Having over 8 million followers on Twitter, the back-lash from this comment was huge and led Kutcher to take a “vow of silence” from the social media website.

Mr Demi Moore then released a lengthy blog explaining that he will now have a management team help him update his Twitter to ensure that comments like this never happen again:

“While I feel that running this feed myself gives me a closer relationship to my friends and fans I’ve come to realize that it has grown into more than a fun tool to communicate with people. While I will continue to express myself through @Aplusk, I’m going to turn the management of the feed over to my team at Katalyst as a secondary editorial measure, to ensure the quality of its content. My sincere apologies to anyone who I offended. It was a mistake that will not happen again.”
(you can read the rest of his post here: http://aplusk.posterous.com/twitter-management)

In all honesty, I feel bad for Kutcher, every one makes mistakes, we’re all human after all and he at least had the decency to realise his error and to apologise and correct his mistake. Kudos to him.

On the other hand though, he must have known, on some level, that “Jo Pa” wouldn’t have just been fired for no reason, that just doesn’t happen!

Moral of the story – think before you tweet!

Leave a Reply

