recipe: chicken, leek and mushroom casserole

I really enjoy that now both the Woolworths and Coles catalogues each week come with recipes in them, usually using some ingredients that are on special that week. I especially enjoy winter recipes, I love a good casserole and this past week, the Chicken, Leek and Mushroom Casserole in the Woolworths catalogue looked particularly tasty so I thought I would try it out. 

Serves 6
6 chicken drumsticks
6 chicken thigh cutlets
1/3 cup plain flour
2 tbs olive oil
20g butter
350g button mushrooms
3 leeks, white part only, sliced
1 cup white wine
1 cup Woolworths Select Chicken Stock
3 dried bay leaves
1/2 cup continental parsley, roughly chopped
Freshly ground black pepper, to serve

Method
1.
 Preheat over to 180 degrees Celsius. Lightly coat chicken pieces with flour and place onto a large plate. Heat half the oil in a large deep heat-proof casserole dish over medium heat. Add 3-4 pieces of chicken and cook for 6-8 minutes or until golden on all sides. Transfer to a plate. Cook remaining pieces of chicken, adding more oil if required.
2. Add butter to casserole. When melted, add mushrooms and cook for 8 minutes or until golden. Add leeks and cook for 8 minutes, stirring often until soft but not coloured. Pour over wine and stock and bring to the boil.
3. Return chicken pieces to casserole with bay leaves. Bring to the boil. Cover, place into oven and cook for 1 1/4 hours.
4. Remove lid and cook for a further 30 minutes or until chicken is falling off the bones. Serve sprinkled with parsley and freshly ground black pepper.

First things first, I did not use parsley or freshly ground black pepper when serving, I didn’t see the point and I did not feel like it was lacking. I also used fresh bay leaves because that’s what I had available. In terms of the cooking, I put in the mushrooms and the leek at the same time as I didn’t feel that the mushrooms needed to be cooked that much longer.

What the Woolworths one looked like:

What mine looked like:

It was absolutely delicious, chicken literally falling off the bone, it was so tender. I really enjoyed it and it doesn’t require a great deal of effort. Also, food saving tip, with the leftover green parts of the leek, my Dad made potato and leek soup. It’s slightly green but still tastes amazing and that way, we weren’t throwing out perfectly good food.

4 comments

  1. sonjalouise · July 17, 2012

    So glad it’s yummy! Mum has made this for tonight, so I’m keen :)

  2. Guneet Dave · July 17, 2012

    Hello there! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My weblog looks weird when browsing from my apple iphone. I’m trying to
    find a template or plugin that might be able to fix this issue.
    If you have any suggestions, please share. Many thanks!

    • moniquefischle · July 17, 2012

      Thanks for the feedback/letting me know that there’s an issue. I’m not super tech-savvy but luckily I have some friends who are so I will ask them what I can do to make my site more mobile friendly and hopefully fix the problem for you!

Leave a Reply

