the fallen series

It was the end of 2009 and I was looking for a new book to read. After reading the Harry Potter series for the millionth time and after finishing the Twilight series (again), I decided that I wanted a stand-alone book. I didn’t want to be waiting with baited breath until the next one was released. No, I wanted everything wrapped up in a neat little package by the last page.

While generally not a huge fan of most of the teen books available these days, with all the vampires and supernatural occurrences, something drew me towards the cover of Fallen by Lauren Kate.

While to most, this looks the same as all the other teen books out there, I didn’t think so. There was something in the composition that made me pick it up and read the back. It said:

SOME ANGELS ARE DESTINED TO FALL.

Instant. Intense. Weirdly familiar…
The moment Luce looks at Daniel

she knows she has never felt like this before.
Except she can’t shake the feeling that she
has…and with him – a boy she doesn’t
remember ever setting eyes on.

Will her attempt to find out why enlighten her – or destroy her?

Dangerously exciting and darkly romantic, FALLEN is a thrilling story about forbidden love. 

I liked the sound of it and so I bought it immediately. As soon as I got home, I flicked through the book and on the last page it said:

Can you bear the…

TORMENT

The next book
in the FALLEN series
By Lauren Kate

September 2010

And in all honesty, right then, I could not bear the torment because I had unwittingly put myself into ANOTHER book series. So I read, and kept reading. And then I would grow impatient, waiting for Torment, then Passion and finally Rapture, to be released (luckily Fallen In Love, a collection of short stories of the minor characters, was released between Passion and Rapture to satisfy my craving).

To give you a brief overview of the first book (which sets up the rest of the series) from the Fallen Books website:

17-year-old Lucinda falls in love with a gorgeous, intelligent boy, Daniel, at her new school, the grim, foreboding Sword & Cross . . . only to find out that Daniel is a fallen angel, and that they have spent lifetimes finding and losing one another as good & evil forces plot to keep them apart.

While there are lots of supernatural stories floating around, for me, there was something different about the Fallen Series. No one has ever really explored the idea of fallen angels in a modern context. It is something that has always fascinated me and perhaps, that it why I was so drawn to these stories.

I love the character of Luce. While I’ve argued against female characters who find their identity in a man (cough Bella Swan cough), with Luce, it is different. She loves Daniel completely, there’s no question about that, but she’s just as interested (if not more so) in finding out about her past lives and everything that has happened in her history as she is about being with Daniel. I like that Daniel tries to keep his distance from Luce and wants her to be happy even if it means that they can’t be together.

I love reading love stories, why else would I love Nicholas Sparks so much? And I love Luce and Daniel’s story. I love that in every life, they have found each other and fallen in love. I love the way they treat each other with respect and kindness. I love the sweetness of the writing, with passages like this one from Rapture found regularly throughout the series.

Lauren Kate has given us another love story and I loved the series. I loved that she released the books promptly so I didn’t have to wait for five+ years. I loved that the events of the entire series takes place over only a matter of weeks, maybe months. I loved the uniqueness in which she interpreted the Fall and the reason behind it. And I loved the way she ended the series, I was completely satisfied.

These aren’t the most ground-breaking books I have ever read, nor are they literary genius, but I don’t care. I enjoyed them and if you love a good love story and are fascinated by things such as fallen angels, I would definitely give The Fallen Series a read.

Have you read the Fallen series? Which was your favourite book (mine was Rapture)? What did you like or not like about the series?

Picture 1, Picture 2, Picture 3 taken by me

Leave a Reply

