little white lies in shopping

I may have a slight addiction to shopping. It’s not that I go shopping all the time; in fact, I’ve been known to avoid shops altogether at times. I’m a bit of a homebody and am really content to stay inside all day. I mean, who can be bothered actually leaving the house? But when I do go shopping, I generally end up buying at least one thing, even if that ends up being food or lollies.

As I’ve spoken about before, I have an addiction to buying books and DVDs¬†and my collection has increased significantly since I posted that back in March. Why? Because I can’t stop spending. There’s a reason my savings account isn’t huge. When someone mentions a book and I think about how I would like to read it, instead of hitting up the local library, I hop onto the Book Depository and when I discover it’s $9, it’s purchased before you can say addiction.

There is another online shop which has stolen my heart, ASOS. Introduced to me by one of my dormies last year, I can’t even begin to tell you how much I love ASOS. I’ve bought so many dresses from there, as well as a few jumpers and skirts and, with the exception of the deliciously beautiful red coat I bought on Sunday (it was 10% off, OK!) I have never spent over $45 and most of my purchases have been around the $20 mark.

But the thing is, no matter how cheap the dress is (I shop almost exclusively in the outlet section), I still sometimes tend to tell little white lies when it comes to how much it cost. For example, when someone compliments the dress, it sounds better saying “I know, right? It was only $20″ than saying it was $22. It sounds crazy, being only $2 different, but it’s something I do by default, I round down.

To make myself feel less bad for my constant spending, I lie a little bit about the price. It doesn’t change the fact that the dress cost my bank account $22 instead of $20, but it makes me feel better. I also make more purchases from the Book Depository and ASOS because there is free postage, so I tend to buy an extra item or book in lieu of that. And don’t even get me started on how much I hate having to pay for postage! It’s really not good for my bank account…

Do any of you do this? Even if it’s just a few dollars, do you tell little white lies when it comes to how much you spent on something?

Picture of shopping bags

4 comments

  1. Fight Like A Girl · June 14, 2012

    Yes! I do all the time! I just bought a new pair of shoes for $43.95… But they were $40 for anyone who asks! And postage? That’s the first thing I look for, if I have to pay postage, I say hi to the little red ‘x’ in the right hand corner of the page!

    • moniquefischle · June 14, 2012

      It’s funny, isn’t it! I never tell big lies, but just round down by a few dollars and I feel better. And I’m so turned off by postage!

  2. I’m a tightarse at heart so I don’t do this. I feel disappointed in myself at the amount I spend on clothes and the amount of times I buy my lunch. I tend to give myself talking-tos about how shopping only makes me feel better for a minute and consumerism is bad, mmmk. Best to be honest with yourself though.

    • moniquefischle · June 14, 2012

      I’ve never regretted a purchase, which I’m happy about. The thing is though, I never spend huge amounts of money on things, I spend an average of $12 on books and an average of around $20-$25 on clothing online, so while I tell little white lies, it’s not buying something for $100 and saying “yeah, it was only like $20″. I generally don’t spend heaps, just spend semi-frequently.

Leave a Reply

