beauty is in the eye of the needle

Back when all the cast members were fresh faced

One of the few things I actually enjoy about being unemployed is the fact that I get to watch trashy TV and not feel bad about it. I don’t have any assignments to do and I don’t have a job to go to so I can satisfy my trashy TV cravings as much as I want (I try to look for silver linings). Over the past few weeks, MTV has been airing back-to-back episodes (from the beginning) from 12-4pm on weekdays of Laguna Beach: The Real Orange County and its spin-off series, The Hills. It’s been fun to go back and watch it all again and watch the whole Heidi/Spencer/Lauren saga play out. It also got me thinking about Heidi’s face.

Yes, I know, it’s been talked about to death. But I still think it’s valid. You see, I’ve been watching The Hills and admiring how beautiful all the girls are, before Heidi infamously had 10 cosmetic procedures done at the same time back in 2009. It made me sad that there was this beautiful girl who felt so insecure in her own body that she basically butchered it.

I personally think she looked better before

There was obviously something much deeper going on than anyone realised if she felt that having these procedures would make her feel beautiful. Even though I don’t like him, I actually feel bad for Spencer, according to Heidi, he begged her not to go through with it. It’s sad that pleas from her husband did nothing to change her mind. More often than not I feel like plastic surgery is a physical “fix” for an emotional/inner problem, a fix that won’t last and often leaves you filled with regret.

But then there is also the pressure from Hollywood to stay looking young. Mia Freedman recently wrote a column about this in which she said, in part:

Take a moment to kiss the ground and appreciate not being a woman in the public eye. Because there isn’t a moment when they can just….be. Let alone do. A famous woman’s appearance always comes into play whether she’s a news reader or the prime minister.

In the snarky narrative of gossip, she must be either too fat or too thin, trying too hard or not trying hard enough, desperately clinging onto her youth or letting herself go, suspiciously young or old and haggard. In other words, lose or lose. Sledge or ridicule.

Read the full column here.

I don’t envy women in the public eye. Not even a little bit. I would hate to be surrounded by the constant pressure to look good. I wish we lived in a society where it was still OK to grow old gracefully and without the aid of cosmetic procedures.

She is almost unrecognisable

Take Joan Rivers. The woman has had multiple cosmetic surgeries (and is quite open about it) after first getting an eyelift in 1965 when she was 32 in an attempt to further her career. Now, she is almost unrecognisable. If you had shown me the picture of her on the left and asked me who she was, having not grown up with plastic surgery free Joan, I wouldn’t have been able to tell you.

What I think people forget sometimes when it comes to plastic surgery, it’s permanent, you cannot erase it, you cannot go completely back to how you were before. Even if you get breast implants taken out, it will never be the way it was before the surgery. Heidi came out in December 2010 in Life & Style magazine saying that she regrets her surgeries:

“I would love not to be a plastic girl or whatever they call me. Surgery ruined my career and personal life and just brought a lot of negativity into my world. I wish I could jump into a time machine and take it all back. Instead, I’m always going to feel like Edward Scissorhands.”

Read the rest of the article here.

She has spoken publicly about how she’s had a very long and painful recovery period, how it changed her life negatively with her inability to exercise and she has even gone as far to say that it ruined her marriage because “No one wants to be taking care of his wife who looks like she’d been in a horrific accident.” Let Heidi be a lesson to everyone: you cannot take plastic surgery back so think twice before you do it.

Have you ever gotten plastic surgery? Would you? How about Botox?

Picture of the cast found here.
Picture of transformation found here.
Picture of Joan Rivers found here.

5 comments

  1. Miss T · April 25, 2012

    I have to say, I think if I were ever going to get surgery I’d seek out Heidi’s surgeon because he did an amazing job. She makes a really convincing Barbie doll.

    I couldn’t ever have surgery due to my fears but even if I could, I wouldn’t. How you feel about your body is in your mind, and changing your body won’t fix it. The only time surgery works out if you know it won’t change who you are, it won’t make you feel better, it will just change what you look like. Insecurity runs deeper than that.

    • moniquefischle · April 25, 2012

      Unfortunately, Heidi’s surgeon was killed in a car accident, so that’s not an option.

      Unless I was in a horrible accident, I don’t think I could ever get surgery on my face. I wouldn’t say no to a breast reduction and lift following children, because I already get horrible back pain, but it wouldn’t be for cosmetic reasons.

      Like I said, you can never take back surgery and I think people forget that. And like you said, it won’t ever change how you feel.

  2. Gaye · April 25, 2012

    Hi Monique It’s just not Plastic Surgery its also Dentistry – Society is making us believe that if you do not have a perfect super white smile it is not acceptable – years ago I would never have been judgemental about a person’s smile but now I find myself watching the plastic fantastics on American TV and start to believe this is normal – any dentist will tell you that any shade of white teeth are still healthy teeth without having them chemically whitened.

    • moniquefischle · April 25, 2012

      I’d never thought about it like that but you’re so right. People spend so much money on teeth whitening services and veneers because we are an appearance based society. It’s actually kind of sad.

  3. Pingback: one year | the musings of monique

Leave a Reply

