book review: love letters of great men vol 1

If you know me, you know that I have lots of useless entertainment related information stored in my brilliant brain. Very rarely am I able to share this information and it actually be relevant. This post is one of those rare occasions.

For Sex and the City fans, you’ll remember in the movie that Carrie (Sarah Jessica Parker) is reading “Love Letters of Great Men” while in bed with Big (Chris Noth) and from it, we get Big’s vows “ever thine, ever mine, ever ours” *sigh* So the trivia is, this book didn’t actually exist, it was a prop book and due to its pivotal role in the plot, many people enquired about the book that it was released.

See, random trivia can be relevant sometimes.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this little book (even though they made it because of the movie, it isn’t as big as the book shown in the movie, it’s a very slim 138 pages). It’s filled with (mostly) beautiful love letters, some of which I think could be the basis of wedding vows. Here are some of my favourites:

To Josephine, I love you no longer; on the contrary, I detest you. you are a wretch, truly perverse, truly stupid, a real Cinderella” – tell us how you really feel Napolean.

“I care not who knows this – what use is made of it – it is you & to you only that they owe yourself, I was and am yours freely & most entirely, to obey, to honour, love & fly with you when, where, & how you yourself might & may determine” – Lord Byron

“My destiny rests with you” - George Gordon, Lord Byron

“Time passes swiftly, but is it not joyous to see how great and growing is the treasure we have gathered together, amid the storms and stresses of so many eventful and to millions tragic and terrible years?” - Winston Churchill

“One line in haste to tell you that I love you more today than ever in my life before, that I never see beauty without thinking of you or scent happiness without thinking of you. You have fulfilled all my ambition realized all my hopes, made all my dreams come true” – Cuff Cooper

“I can’t help loving you more than is good for me”  – Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

There are so many more but I don’t think I can be bothered typing up the whole book, plus, that probably infringes copyright issues. I think this is a really sweet book. It reminds you that love does exist and I think it could be good reading for an engaged couple who would like to write their own vows and want inspiration.

You can buy it from the Book Depository here – there is also a Vol 2, but it’s poetry, not letters.

Leave a Reply

