how good are the final farewells?

TV Shows final farewell

Last week, I said goodbye to a television show that has been in my light for the past nine years, One Tree Hill. I recapped my favourite moments from the series before watching the finale. I waited a week before I published my thoughts on the finale as I didn’t want to ruin it for those who had yet to watch. So if you don’t want to read about the finale STOP READING NOW. But I also share thoughts on other television show finales, so if you’re interested in that, by all means, keep reading.

The lovely ladies of One Tree Hill at Karen's Cafe

To start off with, I was exceedingly happy with the finale of One Tree Hill. I don’t know what I was hoping for, but I was so happy with how things were left. So thank you, Mark Schwahn, for the perfect ending. I know there were many people who were upset that Lucas (Chad Michael Murray) and Peyton (Hilarie Burton) didn’t make an appearance, and at first, I was too. But when I stopped to think about it, they haven’t been on the show for three years (except for the two second comeback Lucas did this season) and it wouldn’t have made sense for them to return to Tree Hill (though you’d think Peyton would want to be there at the 10th anniversary of Tric) and I think it would have overshadowed the cast who remained and joined the Tree Hill family.

I’m not going to do into too much detail, but I wanted to share my favourite parts of the finale.

  • When Brooke (Sophia Bush) and Haley (Bethany Joy Lenz) were saying thank you to people at Tric, it felt like Mark had written those lines to say thank you to the fans of One Tree Hill. It was all very emotional.
  • I love that they had a live show at Tric going on throughout the finale; music has always been a big part of OTH and it was only fitting to have it end this way. I also got super emotional when Gavin DeGraw sang “I Don’t Want To Be” and the cast was singing along.
  • When Logan called Quinn (Shantel VanSanten) Mum, I couldn’t hold back the tears and I’m glad we saw Quinn and Clay (Robert Buckley) married by the end of the series.
  • I love that the finale didn’t centre around Julian’s (Austin Nichols) new television show ala Dawson’s Creek, and I love that he bought Brooke her old house (with the red door) and that Brooke’s parents were together and happy. Brooke deserved a happy ending and she got it.
  • Nathan (James Lafferty) and Haley’s ending was perfect, going back to their first gift, first date and all the many romantic moments that happen in the rain.
  • In the future we see that Jamie (Jackson Brundage) beat Nathan’s all time leading scorer title (GO JAMIE) and Millie (Lisa Goldstein) and Mouth (Lee Norris) are married and expecting a baby.

For fans of the show, you’ll realise I didn’t mention Chase (Stephen Colletti) and Chris Keller (Tyler Hitlon), but in all honesty, I didn’t really care about what happened to them. I also didn’t mention Skills (Antwon Tanner) but that’s because he didn’t get a big storyline in the later seasons. All in all, pretty happy with the ending, it was a feel-good episode that did the show justice. My one complaint, when they show the gang at high-school Jamie’s basketball game, which would have been at least 6 years in the future, they didn’t try to age them at all, it didn’t look super realistic. But other than that, completely impressed. Below I’ve listed some other memorable ends (to shows I’ve seen, so there are many I’ve missed) SPOILERS AGAIN!!!

Most Heart-warming – FRIENDS
You’d be very unlikely to find a more heart-warming end to a show loved by so many. Phoebe is married, Monica and Chandler have babies and Rachel got off the plane. Only disappointment is nothing really happened for Joey. But I still can’t watch this without getting really emotional.


Most 
Satisfying – Sex and the City
If Big didn’t go and get Carrie from Paris, I would have felt ripped off because Carrie and the Russian just weren’t good together. Charlotte and Harry get a baby, Miranda and Steve are happy and Samantha gets her sex drive back. All in all, a very satisfying ending.

Most Surprising – Dawson’s Creek
Who would have thought that when we met the Dawson’s Creek gang five years down the track that Dawson would have a hit TV show, Jack would be dating Doug, Pacey would have a restaurant, Joey would be a book editor who wasn’t dating Dawson or Pacey and Jen has a kid and has a heart condition that sees her die! This finale was big on the shock factor, especially Jen dying and Doug being gay after denying it consistently for so many years. It also sees Joey FINALLY chose between Dawson and Pacey (it is Jen’s dying wish) and for those who don’t know, she makes the right choice with Pacey!

Most Unsatisfying – Gilmore Girls
While this technically doesn’t happen in the finale, every time I watch Logan propose to Rory I secretly hope that it’s somehow changed and that she actually says yes. It still annoys me that she turned him down. It’s because of this, in part, that the finale is so unsatisfying. Rory hasn’t really grown as a person, she still runs away (even if it’s on the campaign trail) and Lorelai isn’t with Chris and isn’t really with Luke either. There was hardly any closure and I didn’t like it.


What did you think of the One Tree Hill finale? What TV show finales have you loved or hated? Why do you think a finale needs to be great?

Leave a Reply

