book review: the statistical probability of love at first sight by jennifer e. smith

I came across this book on a fluke. I had a $50 Angus and Robertson online voucher to use and I was just having a look across the sight. I was in the process of searching for “Love Letters of Great Men Vol. 1” (stay tuned for more on that) when I accidentally hit “search” having only typed in ‘love’. I was partially glad for this as it is the virtual way to browse the bookshelves of the nearly non-existent bookshops (where I live anyway).

When the title “The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight” popped up, I was intrigued. And when I read the following, I knew I had to buy it:

“Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything? Imagine if she hadn’t forgotten the book. Or if there hadn’t been traffic on the expressway. Or if she hadn’t fumbled the coins for the toll. What if she’d run just that little bit faster and caught the flight she was supposed to be on? Would it have been something else – the weather over the Atlantic or a fault with the plane? Hadley isn’t sure if she believes in destiny or fate but, on what is potentially the worst day of each of their lives, it’s the quirks of timing and chance events that mean Hadley meets Oliver. Set over a 24-hour-period, Hadley and Oliver’s story will make you believe that true love finds you when you’re least expecting it.”

Who else is interested just from reading that? I know I was.

When the book finally came in the mail (side note: how much fun is online shopping when your packages come in the mail), I devoured it over a 24-hour-period, much like the time frame in which the book is set. You are introduced to Hadley, a seventeen-year-old from Connecticut who is late to the airport and misses the plane that will take her to her father’s wedding in London to a woman she has never met and already despises.

She then meets Oliver, a young British man who attends Yale who is returning home to England for the weekend, to a wedding, Hadley presumes. They start talking to kill time before the flight leaves and it turns out that they are seated next to one another.

Hadley can’t help but feel that this is fate.

Even though she only gets to know Oliver over the seven hour flight, she feels like she’s been more honest with him than she has been with anyone. When things start to go wrong at her father’s wedding, where she is an unwilling bridesmaid, all she wants to do is find Oliver and talk to him, but knowing hardly anything at all about him, how will she be able to track him down?

I really enjoyed reading this book. I love that it was set over 24-hours so that you were only given the necessary snippets of back story. It flowed well and was quite easy to read. It isn’t a particularly long book, just over 200 pages, and can easily be read in one afternoon.

I like the way author Jennifer E. Smith writes and I’ll be looking into her other published works.

I’ll be honest, it’s a little bit predictable, but that was one of the things I liked about it. I was looking for a light hearted read and that was exactly what I got.

I wouldn’t call it a must-read, but it’s a bit of fun.

Check out the author’s website for info on her other books here.

To buy the book from the Book Depository, check here.

5 comments

  1. A Novel Place · March 28, 2012

    I have never heard of this book before, but now I just have to read it. It’s cute, light and predictable — which is just what I need next after my exhausting journey of The Lord of the Rings books. Thanks!

    • moniquefischle · March 28, 2012

      No worries :) It’s a bit of light-hearted fun and it filled me with warm fuzzies. Sometimes that’s all you need.

      • A Novel Place · March 28, 2012

        It definitely is – I’ll have to write a review on it when I’m done.

  2. endlessqueue · March 28, 2012

    I liked this one too and reviewed it a bit ago. I loved it! Whenever I get to visit London again I will secretly be hoping that this happens to me, haha.

Leave a Reply

