art imitating life

Really convincing as Noah and Allie

Don’t you just love it when actors who are a couple on-screen announce that they are also a couple off-screen? Well I do. I think this is because it makes their relationship on the television show or in the movie they star in appear more real. And just like it makes me happy when they are together in real life, I must admit, I do become a little bit upset when they announce their spit…invariably because they have fallen in love with another co-star.

But why does this happen, I hear you ask? It is a simple case of art imitating life. When you spend a great deal of your time with a member of the opposite (or same) sex and are required to act out intensely emotional scenes as though you are deeply in love with that person, then chances are you fall prey to infatuation.

Infatuation is love’s confusing cousin that rears its annoying head quite frequently. When you are an actor dedicated to giving the most realistic performance in a film, it arouses certain feelings that otherwise wouldn’t have been an issue.

And the worst part is that, more often than not, they haven’t fallen in love with the person, they have fallen in love with the person’s character which is why the majority of these relationships are doomed to fail before they even begin.

Rachel McAdams, who was part of the best off-screen hook up ever when she got together with her The Notebook co-star, Ryan Gosling, has said “I usually take away one close relationship from every job, some romantic, some not.”

I’m sure her statement is true for many actors in Hollywood. You spend all your time with someone; feelings naturally develop, but is this OK when your co-star is already in a relationship? While this is normal, to act on it is not OK (ahem Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie).

It’s no wonder the divorce rate in Hollywood is exceedingly high. But McAdams, in an interview with Glamour magazine recently, said: “A set may seem like a good place for romance, but I don’t think it’s very conducive. It’s too distracting. Every relationship I’ve had with a coworker has come after the fact, because you wind up actually spending a lot of time with those people promoting the movie.” So it seems that she and Ryan weren’t together while pretending to be Noah and Allie.

As for me, even though they aren’t together any more, I still like to believe that they will find their way back to each other, just like Noah and Allie do.

Ryan Gosling once said in an interview with GQ: “God bless The Notebook. It introduced me to one of the great loves of my life. But people do Rachel and me a disservice by assuming we were anything like the people in that movie. Rachel and my love story is a hell of a lot more romantic than that.”

OK, I’ve changed my mind, I would like it if Ryan Gosling found me.

The Top 10 Steamiest on-set hook ups according to celebrityfix.com:

  1. Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie (Mr and Mrs Smith, 2005)
  2. Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart (Twilight, 2008)
  3. Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams (The Notebook, 2004)
  4. Jennifer Lopez and Ben Affleck (Gigli, 2002)
  5. Nicole Kidman and Tom Cruise (Days of Thunder, 1990)
  6. Penelope Cruz and Javier Bardem (Jamon, 1992 then Vicki Christina Barcelona, 2007)
  7. Blake Lively and Penn Badgley (Gossip Girl, 2007)
  8. Mark Salling and Naya Rivera (Glee, 2010)
  9. Zac Efron and Vanessa Hudgens (High School Musical, 2006)
  10. Taylor Swift and Taylor Lautner (Valentine’s Day, 2010)NB: of these 10 couples, only three are still together

2 comments

  1. Hayley · January 18, 2012

    I hear Emma Stone and that Garfield guy from the Social Network (can’t remember his first name..) are together now after shooting the new Spiderman flick together..i wonder how long this one will last :)

    • moniquefischle · January 18, 2012

      I heard that too! My guess is it will last as long as it takes to fall in love with another co star haha that’s so cynical!

Leave a Reply

